LibGuides: Learning Resources Liaisons: Communications

Library Resources

Students and staff are invited to participate in innovative programming and skill-building opportunities offered by the Learning Resources team.

Learning Resources Workshops & Events

Research guides are created by SPC librarians in partnership with faculty to better support students with the research process.

English Composition 1 (ENC 1101) Guide
by General LibGuide User Last Updated May 16, 2024 2973 views this year

English Composition II (ENC 1102)
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Aug 4, 2024 1034 views this year

Speech Resources
by General LibGuide User Last Updated May 16, 2024 1780 views this year

English Language Lessons for EAP/ESL Students
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 4445 views this year

All Library Research Guides

SPC offers access to a wide variety of databases for research. Top resources are highlighted below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
America's News This link opens in a new window Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. Funded by: College
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window (Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window This product offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Users can search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection. Funded by: College and Statewide
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Libby -- reading app by Overdrive This link opens in a new window Borrow eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library for free! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive, loved by millions of readers worldwide! Funded by: College

For additional resources, please browse the recommended links below.

Conference on College Composition and Communication: Teaching Resources for Writing Instructors
On this page, we offer direction to some teaching and learning sources that provide models of syllabi and assignments as well as heuristics and guidelines that can help instructors with the planning process that goes into teaching college writing.
Florida Open Academic Library
Inside Higher Ed
Online source of higher education news, opinions
National Education Association Resource Library
Whether you're focused on your classroom, community, or capitol, we have tools to help you transform teaching and learning.
St. Petersburg College Digital Archives
Teaching and Learning Together in Higher Education (TLTHE)
Teaching and Learning Together in Higher Education (TLTHE) serves as a forum for the reflective work of college faculty and students working together to explore and enact effective classroom practice. Published three times per year, the journal is premised on the centrality to successful pedagogy of dialogue and collaboration among faculty and students in explorations and revisions of approaches to teaching and learning in higher education.

Open educational resources (OER) remove the cost barrier for students and provide numerous other advantages over traditional textbooks, including expanded access to continually improved, customizable course materials.

Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Joy Scholing Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 701 views this year

Communications and Speech OER
CORA: Community of Online Research Assignments
CORA stands for Community of Online Research Assignments. It is an open educational resource (OER) for librarians, faculty, and other educators. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The site contains multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments that do not live as isolated entities, but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. There is also a Teaching Toolkit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials.
English/ Literature OER
Languages OER
Project Gutenberg
A library of over 70,000 free ebooks
OER Commons: Information Literacy
OER Commons: College Success Skills
OER Commons: ESOL
OER Commons: Literature
OER Commons: Public Speaking
OER Commons: English Composition
Spanish OER Resources
The Writing Center at UNC: Tips and Tools
The Writing Center shares in the University’s mission to serve as a center for scholarship, creative endeavor, and public service. We work with students, faculty, and staff on any writing project at any point in the writing process, helping them to become more skillful, flexible writers. Through campus conversations about academic writing and outreach activities, we promote successful writing for all members of our community.

Tutorials can help students learn how to navigate the online library and research process.

Video Tutorials

Library Instruction Request Form

How to Add a Librarian to your MyCourses Class