LibGuides: Learning Resources Liaisons: Social &amp; Behavioral Sciences &amp; Human Services

Library Resources

Students and staff are invited to participate in innovative programming and skill-building opportunities offered by the Learning Resources team.

Info guides are created by SPC librarians in partnership with faculty to better support students with the research process.

American History
by Kaitlin Crockett - SPC Last Updated Jan 2, 2024 219 views this year
American National Government
by Kaitlin Crockett - SPC Last Updated Jan 2, 2024 3053 views this year
Career Research
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 790 views this year
College Success Guide
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Jan 2, 2024 869 views this year
Human Services
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 181 views this year
Independence Day and American Revolutionary History LibGuide
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Jul 12, 2024 54 views this year
Psychology
by Kaitlin Crockett - SPC Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 312 views this year
SLS 1101 - The College Experience
by Joy Scholing Last Updated Jan 2, 2024 66 views this year
Social Sciences Research
by Maria Barakovskykh Last Updated Jan 2, 2024 2630 views this year
Sociology
by General LibGuide User Last Updated May 16, 2024 30 views this year

All Library Research Guides

SPC offers access to a wide variety of databases for research. Top resources are highlighted below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APPI Psychiatry Online DSM-5 This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing. Funded by: College
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

For additional resources, please browse the recommended links below.

Open Educational Resources remove the cost barrier for students and provide numerous other advantages over traditional textbooks, including expanded access to continually improved, customizable course materials.

American History:

American National Government:

College Experience:

OER Commons: First-Year Experience

Human Services:

Psychology:

Sociology:

About OER

Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Joy Scholing Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 701 views this year

Tutorials can help students learn how to navigate the online library and research process.

Video Tutorials

Library Instruction Request Form

How to Add a Librarian to your MyCourses Class