This research guide will help you find credible sources for career research assignments and for your personal career decisions.
Databases
Search for the name of a career along with the word "career." For example, search "accountant AND career."
Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterThis link opens in a new windowFerguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,900 of today's most popular jobs in 93 industries. This database now contains more than 1,000 new and updated in-depth job and industry descriptions from the new edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and from the popular Career Opportunities series—as well as a searchable archive of articles from current and past issues of Career Opportunities News, a 16-page, bi-monthly newsletter that provides timely information about colleges and the job market.
Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Peterson's Career PrepThis link opens in a new windowPeterson's Career Prep offers job hunting tips including resume writing, interviewing, and more. Take a variety of assessments and explore career options. Funded by: State Library of Florida.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new window(Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowEBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Funded by: College and Statewide
Testing and Education Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTesting & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowDesigned to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThe world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
