LibGuides: Learning Resources Liaisons: Science, Mathematics &amp; EMBA

Library Resources

Students and staff are invited to participate in innovative programming and skill-building opportunities offered by the Learning Resources team.

Learning Resources Workshops & Events

Research guides are created by SPC librarians in partnership with faculty to better support students with the research process.

Biology & Applied Sciences: Library Resources
by Kassandra Sherman Last Updated Aug 12, 2024 206 views this year
Clearwater LSC Mathematics Virtual Handouts
by Livia Zien Last Updated Dec 15, 2023 604 views this year
Livia's Math Page -- Clearwater LSC
by Livia Zien Last Updated Nov 7, 2023 518 views this year
Math & Stats Video Resources
by Matthew Bodie Last Updated Aug 6, 2023 1041 views this year
Mathematics
by Livia Zien Last Updated Aug 22, 2023 687 views this year
Sciences
by Anne McAllister Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 45 views this year

Engineering, Manufacturing, and Building Arts
by Kassandra Sherman Last Updated May 30, 2024 38 views this year

Alternative Citation Managers
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 180 views this year

All Library Research Guides

SPC offers access to many databases for Science and Mathematics research. Top resources are highlighted below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Core Biology This link opens in a new window Hundreds of foundational concepts are explained through high-impact animations and real-life experimentation.JoVE Core Bio is the first-ever video courseware in Biology for undergraduate students. Rather than leafing through dry chapters, you’ll learn the fundamental concepts of Biology through high-quality videos written and edited by experienced scientists. Funded by: College
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests. Funded by: State Library of Florida
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window The world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases: Computers & Applied Sciences Complete Applied Science & Technology Full Text Applied Science & Technology Index Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Science Direct This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently. Funded by: College
Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. Funded by: College

All Library Databases (100+)

For additional resources, please browse the recommended links below.

Open Educational Resources remove the cost barrier for students and provide numerous other advantages over traditional textbooks, including expanded access to continually improved, customizable course materials.

American Institute of Mathematics list of approved OER textbooks: https://aimath.org/textbooks/approved-textbooks/

Merlot materials for Mathematics and Statistics: https://www.merlot.org/merlot/materials.htm?categoryBasic=2513

MIT Open Courseware for Math: https://ocw.mit.edu/search/?d=Mathematics&f=Online%20Textbook&s=department_course_numbers.sort_coursenum

OpenStax Math: https://openstax.org/subjects/math

Open Textbook Library Math books: https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/subjects/mathematics

Wikibooks Math: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Department:Mathematics

Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Joy Scholing Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 701 views this year

Tutorials can help students learn how to navigate the online library and research process.

Video Tutorials

Library Instruction Request Form

How to Add a Librarian to your MyCourses Class