LibGuides: Learning Resources Liaisons: Education

Library Resources

Students and staff are invited to participate in innovative programming and skill-building opportunities offered by the Learning Resources team.

Learning Resources Workshops & Events

Research guides are created by SPC librarians in partnership with faculty to better support students with the research process.

College of Education Resource Guide
by Kassandra Sherman Last Updated Jun 3, 2025 95 views this year

Primary Sources Research
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Jun 3, 2025 109 views this year

Censorship, Banned Books & Literacy Education
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Jun 1, 2025 84 views this year

Citation Help
by General LibGuide User Last Updated Jun 5, 2025 2391 views this year

All Library Research Guides

SPC offers access to a wide variety of databases for research. Top resources are highlighted below.

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Chronicle of Higher Education The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. Funded by: College
Education Source Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
ERIC A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Libby -- reading app by Overdrive Borrow eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library for free! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive, loved by millions of readers worldwide! Funded by: College
Testing and Education Reference Center Testing & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

For additional resources, please browse the recommended links below.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE)
Florida Open Academic Library
Harvard Library's Websites for Educators
Gutman Library's "Websites for Educators" is a selective list of websites that support the research and practice of educators. Please tell us about websites we should consider adding.
St. Petersburg College Digital Archives
U.S. Dept. of Education's Early Learning Resources

Open educational resources (OER) remove the cost barrier for students and provide numerous other advantages over traditional textbooks, including expanded access to continually improved, customizable course materials.

Open Educational Resources (OER)
by Joy Scholing Last Updated Jun 5, 2025 160 views this year

MERLOT Teacher Education Community Resources
Welcome to the MERLOT Teacher Education Portal, an educational resource for teaching and learning. You are invited to join MERLOT (it's free) and contribute to this growing community of teacher education instructors by using the learning materials
Early Childhood Education OER Materials
Google Group. "Thanks for stopping by. I hope you can add to the collaboration of ECE/Child Development resources. My goal is to create a space where we can share resources we have found that we feel others may want to use to replace textbooks."
OER Commons
Find resources by subject, education level and standard.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
Education Textbooks - Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Now offering 1402 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network.
Education - Open Book Publishers
We are the leading independent open access publisher of academic research in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the UK: we're award-winning, not-for-profit, run by scholars, and committed to making high-quality research freely available to readers around the world. Access all our books online or download them for free, with no Book Processing Charges (BPCs) for authors.