LibGuides: Research Makeovers: Part 2: Safety

Description

Learn how to access information on the pros and cons of beauty products and procedures.

Research Tips

When searching for information about beauty safety, try using a combination of the following search terms. Also, look for advanced search boxes to enter search term combinations and select boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT).

Beauty
Personal beauty
Any variations of the name of the procedure
Any variations of the name of the product (ex. "hair dye" or "hair coloring")
Pros
Cons
Safety
Risk
Effects

Search the following databases to find more information about beauty safety.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window (Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Search the following journals to find more information about beauty safety.

Consumer Reports "Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers."
Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology "Presents peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of cosmetic dermatology."
Soap, Perfumery and Cosmetics "Presents articles related to the soap, perfumery and cosmetics industry, especially new products and business practices."

Search the following websites to find more information on beauty safety.

American Academy of Dermatology Association "The AAD is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair, and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin, hair, and nails."
EWG's Skin Deep "Online profiles for cosmetics and personal care products and their potential hazards and health concerns."

Browse a sample of articles from the SPC library to learn more about beauty safety.

Feeding the Skin: A New Trend in Food and Cosmetics Convergence "Food ingredients are being included in cosmetics and other personal care products with the aim of bringing into cosmetic products certain benefits of food ingredients."
Make Up Comes Clean "Caring about the ingredients in our food and home products is a no-brainer, but there's one frontier that's been slower to join the 'clean' world: makeup."
Toxic Beauty "Many women are unaware of how the chemicals lurking in their beauty products could potentially affect their health."

Browse a sample of videos from the SPC library to learn more about beauty safety.

Body A La Carte
Full Video (51:47)
more...less...
"This program explores the increasingly popular and fascinating phenomenon of cosmetic procedures."

For more help, view our collection of tutorials, guides, and other training materials.

Basic Library Research Overview

Beauty Tips with Heather

If you are looking for DIY beauty projects, check out the following articles from the SPC library.

Disclaimers

This research guide is for informational purposes only. The content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this guide or in the SPC databases.
All quoted descriptions are taken from the corresponding source.