LibGuides: Research Makeovers: Part 6: History

Description

Discover how beauty has evolved over time while exploring library resources.

Research Tips

When searching for information about the history of beauty, try using a combination of the following search terms. Also, look for advanced search boxes to enter search term combinations and select boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT).

Beauty
History

Search the following databases to find more information about the history of beauty.

Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window (Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Search the following journals to find more information about the history of beauty.

Search the following websites to find more information about the history of beauty.

100 Years of Beauty "A face from the past tells us everything about the present. Blur past the last century in 100 Years of Beauty, the iconic hair and makeup time-lapse series."
Cosmetics and Personal Care Products in the Medicine and Science Collections "The National Museum of American History's collection of cosmetics and personal care products currently includes over 2,200 objects dating largely from the mid-nineteenth century to the present."

Browse a sample of articles from the SPC library to learn more about the history of beauty.

How Colonialism Shaped Body Shaming "When did heaviness and curviness in women become connected with the idea of “savagery”? It has a lot to do with 19th-century imperialist world views."
How Makeup Went Mainstream "Makeup was associated with prostitution and vice until the early 20th century, when movie actresses’s cosmetics testimonials reached everyday women."
Light Bulbs for Beauty "When electric lighting was first introduced to U.S. households, marketing departments tried to convince women that better lighting would be flattering."
Madame Yale Made a Fortune With the 19th Century’s Version of Goop "A century before today’s celebrity health gurus, an American businesswoman was a beauty with a brand."
Makeup in the Technicolor Age "When Technicolor changed the face of the film industry, it also altered the cosmetics industry, sparking the great Hollywood Powder Puff War of the 1930s."
Pageantry & Politics: Miss Howard University from Civil Rights to Black Power. "Few realize that, historically, the women elected to serve as “Queens” of Howard University, were often reflections of political, social, and cultural issues of the time. This parade of beauty, intellect, and charm, was an unofficial barometer of where the University as well as the country stood on matters that pertained to cultural politics, institutional identity, and evolving definitions and standards of beauty."
Refining the Body Beautiful "There is beauty to be had from the smallest of objects. In the 18th century, tweezers, toothpicks and clippers became the signs of a polite, and beautiful, society. "
Edwardian Fashion Plates "This collection of Edwardian fashion plates was compiled from the Costume folders in the RISD Fleet Library Picture Collection, and used to research European high fashion from 1910 to 1914."

Browse a sample of videos from the SPC library to learn more about the history of beauty.

For more help, view our collection of tutorials, guides, and other training materials.

Basic Library Research Overview

Beauty Tips with Kassie

My biggest beauty tip is to drink water! I know this is so basic, but you would be surprised what a difference it makes. The human body is made largely of water, and when you are dehydrated, your lips and skin suffer.

Disclaimers

This research guide is for informational purposes only. The content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this guide or in the SPC databases.
All quoted descriptions are taken from the corresponding source.