LibGuides: Research Makeovers: Part 5: Industry

Description

Get briefed on careers and trends in the beauty industry with the following research tips.

Research Tips

When searching for information about the beauty industry, try using a combination of the following search terms. Also, look for advanced search boxes to enter search term combinations and select boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT).

Beauty
Cosmetology
Industry
Career
A specific profession (ex. Cosmetologist, Makeup Artist, Spa Manager, etc.)
NAICS code for an specific industry

Search the following databases to find more information about the beauty industry.

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Business Collection is a comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news, the public library patron making personal investment decisions, or the high school student looking to major in business administration. Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users can learn about the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications that are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S. and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window Fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window The world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window Peterson's Career Prep offers job hunting tips including resume writing, interviewing, and more. Explore career options with advice from Peterson's Career Prep, too. Funded by: State Library of Florida.
Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window Ferguson's Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,900 of today's most popular jobs in 93 industries. This database now contains more than 1,000 new and updated in-depth job and industry descriptions from the new edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and from the popular Career Opportunities series—as well as a searchable archive of articles from current and past issues of Career Opportunities News, a 16-page, bi-monthly newsletter that provides timely information about colleges and the job market. Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window (Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Search the following journals to find more information about the beauty industry.

Search the following websites to find more information about the beauty industry.

Academy of Applied Personal Training Education
American Association of Cosmetology Schools
American Council on Exercise
Association of Cosmetology Salon Professionals
The Cooper Institute
National Council for Certified Personal Trainers
National Council on Strength and Fitness
North American Industry Classification System Learn about NAICS codes and search for business establishments by keyword or the 2-6 digit code.
Professional Beauty Association
Yoga Alliance

Browse a sample of articles from the SPC library to learn more about the beauty industry.

Cosmetology "The cosmetology industry is composed of professionals who earn their living by beautifying their customers in some form, whether it is through hair care, skin or nail care, or applying makeup."
Fitness and Training "It may seem like a paradox, but at the same time that obesity in America is at high levels, the fitness industry is a booming business."
Why People Want to Be Fitness Instructors "Being a fitness instructor isn’t a very highly-paid job, but, researchers found that the job provides other rewards for the people who love it."
Barber Shops: From Dying Industry to Booming Business

Browse a sample of videos from the SPC library to learn more about the beauty industry.

Birchbox—Inside the Founders: Studies in Business Leadership
Full Video (06:32)
more...less...
"Started in 2010 by two business school students, Birchbox is a leading online subscription service that sends its over 1 million subscribers 4-5 samples of beauty products a month. The company now generates over $125 million in revenue and is valued at $485 million."
Hair Care and Beauty Empires
Segment 12 (07:31)
more...less...
"Annie Malone formulated a product that helped black women straighten their hair without damage. She founded the Poro Company and a system of beauty colleges. She also trained Madame C.J. Walker who became the world’s first self-made, female millionaire."
Divya Gugnani Discusses Value Proposition Of Beauty
Full Video (02:32)
more...less...
"Divya Gugnani, who is CEO both of Send the Trend, an online fashion accessories company and of Behind the Burner, a culinary media brand, talks about the value proposition of beauty."

For more help, view our collection of tutorials, guides, and other training materials.

Beauty Tips with Paula

Dress for success! I like to pair a cropped blazer with an A-line dress for a professional yet feminine look.

Disclaimers

This research guide is for informational purposes only. The content is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this guide or in the SPC databases.
All quoted descriptions are taken from the corresponding source.