Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation for HEC Students

Library orientation for HEC Students taking online courses.

Search for Journal Articles

Links to Databases: Find journal articles in a frequently used database.

SPC Library Online - There are several ways to search for journal articles via the SPC library databases.

Tip: Watch the How to Search for Journal Articles video under the Featured Presentations box; this short video demonstrates how to search for journal articles. Remember, after you select the SPC Library Online link, start your search by selecting one of the following tabs:

  • Databases A-Z:  If you know the title of the database you want to conduct a search in, such as:
    • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    • CINHAL Complete  (EBSCO)
    • Dentistry and Oral Hygiene (EBSCO)
    • Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
    • Veterinary Science Database (OVID)
  • Database by Subject: Select Health Sciences & Veterinary Technology, and choose a database. This section is a complete list of all the Health & Veterinary Sciences related databases. There is a description of the disciplines and content covered within each of the available databases.
  • Journals A-Z:  If you have the citation for a journal article and you want to locate the full-text, select the Journals A-Z tab and search by the title of the journal. Watch the Journals A-Z Search video located under the Featured Presentations box for a demonstration.

Featured Presentations

How to Search for Journal Articles video: General search for journal articles.

Journals A-Z Search video: Find full-text articles from a citation.

Video Transcripts:

Peer Review

Peer Review in Three Minutes: This brief video tutorial, created by a team of individuals at NCSU Libraries, provides an excellent overview of the peer review process.

More Featured Presentations

CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial

CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial

MEDLINE with Full Text Searching

Nursing@Ovid - Getting Started

Science Direct - Performing an Advanced Search