Library CatalogThis link opens in a new windowSearch for everything (e.g., books, e-books, articles, videos etc.) that St. Petersburg College owns.
Databases A-ZThis link opens in a new windowDatabases A-Z
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
SPC Info GuidesA curated collection of general & specific guides, classified by subject area, leading to relevant research & information sources for students and instructors.
Video Sources
Visual & Video Content
General
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new window(Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
PBS VideoThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 1,700 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Swank Motion PicturesThis link opens in a new windowSwank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly. Funded by: College
Specialized
Google Arts & CultureThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. Google works with cultural institutions and artists around the world and their mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Biodigital Human (Create personal account)This link opens in a new windowBioDigital Human is an interactive 3D software platform for visualizing anatomy, disease, and treatment. Note: Users will need to create an individual account the first time accessing and then will need to sign in with that custom account each time.
Journal of Visualized ExperimentsThis link opens in a new windowJournal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. Funded by: College
Learning Resources Video TutorialsLearn how to access information, evaluate sources, and more with this custom video collection curated by our staff of professionals.
Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources (OER)
SPC Guide on Open Educational ResourcesThe work continues to create Zero Textbook costs for students. This guide will help you find resources that you can add to your course to get there.
Student Open Access Resources (SOAR)A statewide, internet-based, searchable database of Open Education Resources (OER) curated by the students, librarians, faculty, and staff from the Florida College System (FCS) and State University System (SUS) institutions.
Sage SkillsThis link opens in a new windowThese resources are designed to help you learn new skills and sharpen existing ones so that you succeed during your time at university and as you prepare to enter the workforce. Their built-in flexibility allows you to choose whether you want to progress through a full skill module, learn best practices for a particular skill, or home in on a very specific topic of interest. Whatever your academic interests or skill needs, you can choose from a diverse range of 15 modules, more than 100 skills, over 2,000 skill topics, across two robust resources.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new window(Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
PBS VideoThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 1,700 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Educators Reference CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Content included in the database is almost entirely full-text. The entire ERIC Database will be fully integrated into ERC with direct links to over 50% of the ERIC titles in FULL-TEXT.
Funded by: State Library of Florida
Sage SkillsThis link opens in a new windowThese resources are designed to help you learn new skills and sharpen existing ones so that you succeed during your time at university and as you prepare to enter the workforce. Their built-in flexibility allows you to choose whether you want to progress through a full skill module, learn best practices for a particular skill, or home in on a very specific topic of interest. Whatever your academic interests or skill needs, you can choose from a diverse range of 15 modules, more than 100 skills, over 2,000 skill topics, across two robust resources.
Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities. This bibliographic database provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Testing and Education Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTesting & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Sites
Citation Help GuideThis guide will provide you with the basics of APA, MLA, and CSE citations including sample papers, how to set up your research paper in Microsoft Word, and how to cite in-text sources.
Community College Research CenterCCRC studies community colleges because they provide critical access to postsecondary education and are uniquely positioned to promote equity and social mobility in the United States. Our mission is to conduct research that helps these institutions strengthen opportunities and improve outcomes for their students, particularly those from underserved populations.
Dissertation StrategiesFrom UNC Writing Center, this handout suggests strategies for developing healthy writing habits during your dissertation journey. These habits can help you maintain your writing momentum, overcome anxiety and procrastination, and foster wellbeing during one of the most challenging times in graduate school.
InstructionalDesign.orgInstructionalDesign.org is provided to support students, educators, instructional designers, learning engineers, policy makers, and all others interested in the learning sciences and the art of designing effective learning experiences. Content on the site was created by Greg Kearsley and Richard Culatta with input from many experienced learning designers.
Open CultureTake online courses from the world’s top universities for free. Find 1,700 free online courses from universities like Yale, MIT, Harvard, Oxford and more. Our site also features collections of Online Certificate Programs and Online Degree & Mini-Degree Programs.
News Sources
News Sources
General
Florida News SourcesThis link opens in a new windowExplore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Tampa Bay Times CollectionThis link opens in a new windowExplore Tampa Bay history through local news, events and people with the Tampa Bay Times Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowProvides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news.
[Funded by: State Library of Florida]
Specialized
Consumer ReportsThis link opens in a new windowGet unbiased ratings and reviews for 9000+ products and services from Consumer Reports, plus trusted advice and in-depth reporting on what matters most.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Chronicle of Higher EducationThis link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Funded by: College
Inside Higher EdInside Higher Ed provides the latest news, analysis and solutions for the entire higher education community
Harvard Business JournalThis link opens in a new windowFind new ideas and classic advice on strategy, innovation and leadership, for global leaders from the world's best business and management experts.
Funded by: SPC
Tampa Bay Business Journal (On campus access only).This link opens in a new windowThe Tampa Bay Business Journal belongs to a group of forty publications in major local business journals which offer wide coverage of local trade and business news and sales lead information. (On campus access only. Contact Chad Mairn at (727) 394-6917 to get credentials for off campus use.)
Funded by: College
Books
Books
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowEbook Central (formerly MyiLibrary) provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Funded by: College
eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowEBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Funded by: College and Statewide
Libby -- reading app by OverdriveThis link opens in a new windowBorrow eBooks, audiobooks, magazines, and more from your local library for free! Libby is the newer library reading app by OverDrive, loved by millions of readers worldwide!
Funded by: College
Audio
Audio
The Key from Inside Higher EdHear candid conversations with higher ed newsmakers on how colleges and universities are coping with the pandemic and recession -- with a special focus on equity and lower-income students. This podcast is also available on Apple Podcasts, Google Play, Stitcher, and Spotify.
Ted Radio HourTED Radio Hour investigates the biggest questions of our time with the help of the world's greatest thinkers. Can we preserve our humanity in the digital age? Where does creativity come from? And what's the secret to living longer? In each episode, host Manoush Zomorodi explores a big idea through a series of TED Talks and original interviews, inspiring us to learn more about the world, our communities, and most importantly, ourselves.
Association of Florida CollegesThe Association of Florida Colleges, Inc. is the professional association of Florida's 28 public member institutions of the Florida College System, their boards, employees, retirees and associates, and the employees of the Division of Florida Colleges. The mission of the Association is to actively promote, represent, and support members and institutions as they provide their students and the citizens of Florida with a world-class college system.
FCS YouTube ChannelNews and learning events from Florida's great 28 state colleges.
