Skip to main content

APA / MLA / CSE Citation Assistance

This guide will provide you with the basics of MLA, APA, and CSE citations including sample papers, how to set up your research paper in Microsoft Word, and how to cite in-text sources.

READ THIS FIRST

The MLA 8th Edition Handbook replaced the MLA 7th Edition Handbook in April 2016. However, your professor may still require use of MLA 7th Edition.

Check with your professor to verify which edition of MLA you need to use.

MLA 8th Edition resources

MLA 7th Edition resouces 

What's the difference?

What about Database Citation Generators?

Many library databases offer citation generators. We will keep you updated regarding which popular databases are using which edition of MLA.

Last update: 7/27/16

Database MLA Edition used for Citation Generator  
EBSCO 7th (OLD) Edition  
Gale 7th (OLD) Edition 8th (NEW) Edition
InfoBase Publishing 7th (OLD) Edition  
JSTOR 7th (OLD) Edition  
ProQuest 7th (OLD) Edition 8th (NEW) Edition
Salem Press 7th (OLD) Edition  

Basic Citation Examples - 8th Edition

Book with a Single Author:

Last name, First name. Title of the Book. Publisher, year.

Example:

Franke, Damon. Modernist Heresies: British Literary History, 1883-1924. Ohio State

            UP, 2008.

*Note: The new MLA does not require the city of publishing for books or the distinction of web or print for any sources. Books printed or published before 1900 may only offer a city of publishing.  

 

Book with two Authors:

Last name, First name, and First name Last name. Title of book. Publisher, year.

Example:

Dorris, Michael, and Louise Erdrich. The Crown of Columbus. HarperCollins Publishers, 1999.

*Note: The arrangement of Last, First, and First Last will be used for all sources with two authors.

 

EBook

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Publisher, year. Title of Container, location.  

Example:

Gikandi, Simon. Ngugi wa Thiong’o. Cambridge UP, 2000. ACLS Humanities E-Book,

hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.07588.0001.001.

*Note: “Container” is the word MLA uses to describe the source that “contains” the cited material, such as a journal, database, website etc. 

Article from a Website without an Author:

“Title of Article.” Name of Website, Sponsoring Organization, Date/Year, URL.  

Example:

“Hourly News Summary.” National Public Radio, 20 July 2007. npr.org/hourly-

news/20/July/2007/.

*Note: When a source does not have a listed author name, skip that requirement and start with the next item in the format.

 

 

Helpful MLA Resouces - 8th Edition

Valencia College is continually updating this guide.

MLA 8th Edition Handbook