Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speed Dating with Databases

Welcome to Speed Dating with Databases, where we dish the deets on the hottest databases available and help you find the right research match for your needs.

Speed Dating Banner

Are You Ready?

Preparing for your first database can be intimidating.  Don't worry! The Database Relationship Coaches are here to prep you, so you can have a smooth experience. On this page, we'll teach you how to spot red flags and maneuver through awkward situations.  Take our advice, and you'll be going on your second database in no time!

How To Database

Get Directions


First, you need to know where to meet your database.  Follow these three easy directions to navigate to the databases: 

  • Log into your SPC account
  • Click the "Library" tile
  • Select "Database A-Z"

Keep it Simple


Second, you need to know how to approach a database and start a conversation.  If you give a database a long question, it may get confused or overwhelmed.  Stick to a few keywords for each topic you want to know more about. 

Bitmoji of Heather holding a sign that says no

What is the relationship between fungal cells and plant development?

Bitmoji of Heather holding a sign that says yes

"Fungus" AND "Plants"

"Endomycorrhizae"

Set Boundaries


There are some things you don't want to talk about on a first database, so set some boundaries. In the search options, under your keywords, you can choose additional options to make sure your conversation stays on track.  

  • Select "Full Text" to make sure you have access to an entire topic, and not just a summary.
  • Select "Peer Reviewed" if you want to have a scholarly conversation.  
  • Select a "Published Date" or set a "Date Range" to let your database know that you want to focus on the past or present. 

Follow Up


If you like the database, you'll want to make plans to meet again.  If you ask nicely, your database might give you their citation information.  Don't forget to save the information to your OneDrive.

Learn How To Save with OneDrive

More Resources

Use the following resources to help you develop your database skills!