LibGuides: Criminal Justice Research Guide: Library Research

General Access to the SPC Libraries Main Website Page

This link opens the main page of the SPC Libraries. Search all resources including books, ebooks, articles and media using the basic or advanced search. You may "Request" print books from other SPC campuses and Florida colleges which will be sent to the campus you select. Students may access Research Help, Databases and Journals tabs. The recommended research resources follow.

Library Main Page
Use the tabs across the top of the page to search SPC holdings, the databases, journals, research guides, or to make an appointment with a librarian or tutor. Use the links on the main page to use Ask a Librarian, book an appointment, use research guides & videos, attend events & workshops, get more library information, contact librarians, and give us feedback. The faculty services' link provides information about ways we collaborate.

Articles & Databases Recommended for Criminal Justice Research

Using Library Databases for research has many advantages for finding credible sources. Library Databases provide curated journal and magazine articles, books, images, videos and primary sources. Databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by credible authors, researchers and experts in their field. Database search tools help users target the results for the information they need. Most databases provide suggested citations which should be verified using the APA style manual.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350 titles. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Journals

Search for a list of journals on this topic or specific journals available through SPC Libraries.

Films on Demand Database

Films on Demand - Streaming video covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window (Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Websites

Video Tutorials

Visit our video tutorials! Learning Center basics, Research Strategies and Database Instruction.