LibGuides: Argument/Persuasion: Argument/Persuasion

Discover Compelling Topics

Where do you go to follow the issues and listen/read the news?
Explore the places below...

FL Public Broadcasting-WFSU
OnPoint
Controversy and issues news show
PBS-Frontline
News show
PBS-Nova
News show
Pew Research Center
Lots of graphics and charts
WBUR
Public radio website
Wikipedia
Use for subject headings and references. Any encyclopedic information on Wikipedia needs to be verified by other authoritative sources.

Databases for News

Requires login: student # and last 4 SS #

New York Times This link opens in a new window Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. [Funded by: State Library of Florida]

Florida Newspapers (NewsBank)

America's News This link opens in a new window Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Persuasive/Argumentative Essay

We all have different opinions and issues about what we hear or see in the news and even in our everyday lives. These opinions are what we "think" based on our experience. Now what if we listen to others opinions and arguments and find facts that support what we think. With a persuasive or argumentative essay you can:

Analyze a problem or controversy
Develop your own, informed opinion
State facts and evidence to support your opinion or views

Decide what the purpose of your essay is:

Convince others to share your opinion
To convince your reader to do something
To seek support for a cause or solution
To inform others through a cohesive argument

Proceed by:

Selecting a topic (controversy, current affair or issue)
Find out background information
Seek evidence
- explore different viewpoints
- find information that supports your viewpoint
- find additional information

Cite your sources and cite within your argument to avoid plagiarism.

Finding Books and E-books

Search the library website for books and e-books by putting "keywords" pertaining to your topic in the search box, separated by AND.
(ex. Muslims AND racial profiling)

Frontline & Pew stories-Muslims and racial profiling

Explore Different Viewpoints through SPC Databases

Requires login: student # and last 4 SS #

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Databases for Articles

Comprehensive general databases for articles on all subjects.

Requires login: student # and last 4 SS #

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects. Funded by: State Library of Florida

Cite Your Sources

OWL MLA Guide
A comprehensive online guide to MLA citation
KnightCite
A great citation tool
Library MLA Citation Guide

Tools

Thesis Builder
A nifty little tool to help you form a thesis statement
bubbl.usa
A great free brainstorming tool