Read your assignment carefully and select a topic that fits the assignment's criteria. Be sure the topic is neither too broad nor too narrow for the scope of the assignment. Click here for topic suggestions.
After selecting a topic, identify the main keywords about the topic. Consider synonyms as well. As you search and learn more about your topic, you will refine your keywords for a more precise search.
The Basic Search is a good starting point for a general search. Consider using the Advanced Search for a more controlled search. The Advanced Search provides many search options for the most useful results.
The "Advanced Search" allows additional search options, such entering multiple terms, selecting material types and limiting publication dates.
In the column on the left of the "results list," multiple options are available for further refining the search.
The SPC Databases provide superior options for locating information when researching. Databases are collections of archived materials selected for college student research. If the database title is known, use "Databases A-Z" to locate the particular database. If a database is needed for research within a specific subject, select "Databases by Subject." For further help locating the best sources for your research, contact a librarian. Citation suggestions are provided in most databases, though a student must verify the accuracy through the official MLA, APA or CSE style guides.
Boolean Operators, such as "and," "or," and "not," help define a search for more accurate results. A diagram and a video follow.
