LibGuides: Biology & Applied Sciences: Library Resources: Journal Articles in Library Databases

Suggested Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
"Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals."
Applied Science and Technology (EBSCO)
"Contains citations for more than 700 core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Topics include engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, physics, and more."
Basic Biology (JOVE)
Biology videos including lab techniques, methods in cellular and molecular biology, and essentials of Biology 1.
Enviornmental Studies and Policy (Gale)
A digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content
GreenFile (EBSCO)
GreenFILE is a free research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
JSTOR
"Life Sciences comprises the largest collection of journals in the field sciences, and broad coverage of the health sciences. At more than 160 journals and 8 million pages, the collection is JSTOR's largest, spanning more than 340 years of science history and research in the sciences. Disciplines include aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology."
Nature (Journal)
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
SAGE Journals
"SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions."
Science (Journal)
The world's leading peer-reviewed outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content.
Springer eJournal Collection
"SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, science and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily."

Elements of a Scientific Journal Article

Database Searching Tips

Database Search Tip	Use of Tip	Example	Explanation of Example
Boolean Operators	AND, OR, or NOT	enzymes AND biology	This allows search results containing both words
		enzymes OR biology	This allows search results containing either word
		enzymes NOT biology	This allows search results containing enzymes, but NOT biology
Phrase Searching	Putting phrases in “parentheses”	“the biology of enzymes”	This allows for search results that contain this exact phrase
Subject Terms	Specific terms narrow down search results from a broader term	biology of enzymes: subject terms: *ENZYMES SYSTEMS biology* *ENZYME kinetics POTASSIUM SODIUM	Subject terms can be found within a selected journal article. Once you have clicked into the article, subject terms are provided that offer more specific search terms to help narrow down your search from a broader subject.
Subject Terms Example in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Database: