Skip to Main Content 
Recommended Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Resource Description: (Gale) - Contains the complete archived contents of Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Films Media Group) - Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors provides new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors and topics. Adapted from Gale's acclaimed What Do I Read Next? Print series, Books & Authors is specially designed to complement the browsing habits of today's Web user, integrating easy-to-follow menus that allow users to broaden and narrow their searches according to author, title or series, awards, and other criteria. An "if you like" search connects readers to the themes and genres that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
Funded by: State Library of Florida
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Recommended Journals
American Poet
Features articles, interviews, reviews, and an emerging poets series.
American Poetry Review
Presents a diverse array of contemporary poetry and literary prose; aims to expand the audience interested in poetry and literature, and to provide authors, especially poets, with a far-reaching forum in which to present their work.
Poets & Writers
Focuses on writers, publishing, and writing.
