There are multiple organizations that provide open access eBooks. To make it easier to find what you are looking for, try using one of the eBook directories or online libraries first.
Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
E-Books Directory is a daily growing list of freely downloadable ebooks, documents and lecture notes found all over the internet.
You can submit and promote your own ebooks, add comments on already posted books or just browse through the directory
below and download anything you need.
Internet Archive eBooks and Texts
The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 11,000,000 fully accessible books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed or downloaded by the print-disabled at OpenLibrary.org.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
We are the preeminent internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
We carry high quality ebooks: Most Project Gutenberg ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Choose from our hand picked collection of the best public domain books, from the best authors, to be found in the English language over the last four hundred years.
Register now to get free access to our books, which are available in both EPUB and Kindle ebook format. All ebooks are provided without DRM protection and can be read on any device, including Android, Apple (iPad, iPhone, macOS), Amazon Kindle, Kobo, and many other digital devices and smartphones.
Remember, all ours ebooks are completely free!
The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all.
The Assayer is the web's largest catalog of books whose authors have made them available for free. Users can also submit reviews. The site has been around since 2000, and is a particularly good place to find free books about math, science, and computers.
SpringerOpen publishes a wide selection of open access books across various disciplines. All SpringerOpen books are freely available online at SpringerLink and listed in the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB). You can also browse a comprehensive list of open access books available on our website here.
JSTOR offers a growing list of Open Access ebooks from respected presses, such as University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, and ANU Press. More than 500 titles are now available at no cost to libraries or users. Please see below for a title list and links to the ebooks, or download a title list here. The titles are also cross-searchable with other content on JSTOR.org.
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
On this site you will find the full and unabridged texts of classic works of English literature. Fiction from authors like Lewis Carroll, the Bronte sisters (Anne, Charlotte and Emily), Jack London, Mark Twain, Charles Dickens and many others, and classic scientific works from Charles Darwin and Rene Descartes.
*All descriptions are taken from the corresponding organization's website.