Skip to main content

Library Workshops: Fall Online Workshops

Banner

Banner for Library Workshops and Programs

All Fall 2020 workshops and library programs are held Online via Zoom (unless noted).  Attendees must pre-register with their SPC emails to attend workshops.  

**Please make sure to check the spam folder in your SPC email account after registering.  This email is not your MyCourses email.

To request an ASL interpreter or captionist, please contact Lead Interpreter Cynthia Bedient at 727-791-2523, or email bedient.cynthia@spcollege.edu

Research Makeovers

Banner for Research Makeovers Where Beauty Meets Brains

Enhance your research skills while learning how beauty has impacted trends, careers, culture, history, and more in these 15 minute workshops.  Each video in this 6-part series explores a different beauty topic using the SPC online library.  It's going to be eye opening and cheeky, and that's no lip service!  Plus, we may reveal a few of our own beauty secrets...

Part 1:  Free Beauty and Health Magazines  Wednesday 9/2/20 12:00pm Register Here
Part 2: Pretty Safe or Pretty Dangerous Wednesday 9/9/20 12:00pm Register Here
Part 3:  The Good, Bad, and Ugly Wednesday 9/16/20 12:00pm Register Here
Part 4: Global Glamour Wednesday 9/23/20 12:00pm Register Here
Part 5: Beauty Boss Wednesday 9/30/20 12:00pm Register Here
Part 6: Historical and Hysterical Beauty Trends Wednesday 10/7/20 12:00pm Register Here

 

Get to Know Your Online Library

Image of AskaLibrarian Service

See what the SPC Online Library has to offer you this Fall!  Learn about research guides, the AskaLibrarian service, how to access databases, how to use the library catalog, and the benefits of using specific databases.

Book Buzz: Newest in Fiction and Non-fiction 

To register, email Holtzman.heather@spcollege.edu

Tuesday 8/25/20 2:00pm Register Here

Get to Know Your Online Library

To register, email Knipp.Paula@spcollege.edu

Friday 8/28/20 12:00pm Register Here
Get Your Game Face On w/ LRC

Tuesday

Thursday

8/25/20

8/27/20

12:00pm

6:00pm

Register Here

Register Here

 

Specialized Topics and Library Programs

Cartoon image of business person holding a laptop computer

Choose from an assortment of specialized workshops and programs on things such as technology, SPC Reads 2020, Mental Wellness, and more!

SPC Reads 2020: Get to Know the Winning Book Monday 8/31/20 12:30pm Register Here
Suicide Awareness Presentation with Project HEAL Tuesday 9/22/20 12:30pm Register Here
Understanding 5G Wireless Networks Thursday 8/13/20 1:00pm Register Here
Extended Realities to Help Enhance Learning Thursday 8/20/20 1:00pm Register Here

Mental Wellness Resources: SPC Online Library &

Project HEAL

Thursday 9/3/20 12:30pm

Register Here

Ending the Silence: Mental Health Awareness

w/ NAMI Pinellas & Project HEAL

Wednesday 9/9/20 6:00pm Register Here

 

Research Skills & Information Literacy

cartoon image of magnifying glass with eye inside

Fake News & Media Bias: Evaluating Sources
Thursday 9/24/20 12:00pm Register Here
         
         
         
         

 

APA and MLA Citation Workshops

Image of APA handbook Image of MLA Handbook

APA 7th Ed. and MLA Citation Workshops

Need to use APA or MLA citations, but don't know where to start?Let our experts show you the essentials of the newly revised APA 7th citation style.  We also offer workshops on MLA 8th edition style.

Are you a Health Education (HEC) Student?  You can find APA citation workshops customized just for you this Fall!  Visit this link for more information.

Title Day of Week Date Time Registration Link
MLA Workshop Tuesday 9/1/20 7:00pm Register Here
MLA Workshop Thursday 9/3/20 10:00am Register Here
APA Workshop (7th ed.) Tuesday 9/22/20 7:00pm Register Here
APA Workshop (7th ed.) Thursday 9/24/20 10:00am Register Here

 

Speed Dating with Databases

Image of Speed dating with databases banner

Are you ready to meet your research match? Attend a 20 minute "speed dating" workshop where you can get to know 3 eligible databases.

 

Speed Dating:  She Blinded me with Science

  (Science Databases)

Wednesday 9/2/20    6:00pm Register Here

Speed Dating: Database and Chill

(Entertainment Databases)

Wednesday 9/16/20  6:00pm Register Here

Speed Dating: Taking Care of Business

(Business Databases)

Tuesday 10/13/20  12:30pm Register Here

 

All Learning Resources & Tutoring Workshops

Image of a calculator

Looking for a workshop on Anatomy, Math, or Writing?  We have you covered!  SPC Tutors also have plenty of workshops planned this Fall.  Use the SPC Library Calendar to look up all of our great workshops!

 

Health Education (HEC) Library Workshops

Image of Health Sciences and Vet Tech program SPC logo 

Are you a Health Education Student?  You can find workshops customized just for you this Fall!  Visit this link for more information.