It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Science and Technology Resources
Databases, Books, Open Access Text Books and more can help you with your Computer Science and Technology information needs.
Computer Database (Gale) -- Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Adobe Creative Cloud by Jennifer Smith; Christopher Smith
Call Number: T386.A36 S65 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-04
Get ready to jump into the Creative Cloud Adobe Creative Cloud is the most popular suite of tools among creative professionals, and a valuable resource you can use to fulfill all of your design goals. Ready to get started? The only book on the market of its kind, Adobe Creative Cloud All-in-One For Dummies is written by designers for designers. It will provide you with expert instruction that spans seven mini-books, with helpful information that can grant insight regardless of your current level of knowledge. Experience with Adobe Creative Cloud is a marketable skill, and this all-in-one reference guide will help you add InDesign CC, Illustrator CC, Photoshop CC, Acrobat Pro, Adobe Bridge, and Adobe Experience Design to your resume. With more than 800 pages of content, this detailed guide will give you confidence you need to use Adobe photography and graphic design tools to edit photos, make original designs and layouts, and let your creativity shine with Adobe Creative Cloud. Learn design basics and utilize more advanced features Protect your documents with Acrobat Pro Find tips and tricks to make each program work better From 3D images and vivid illustrations to dynamic web pages and interactive effects, Adobe Creative Cloud All-in-One For Dummies shows you how to do it all!
Beginning Programming with Python for Dummies by John Paul Mueller
Call Number: QA76.73.P98 M839 2018
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Learn Python--the fun and easy way--and get in the programming game today! Python is one of the fastest growing programming languages, and no wonder. It requires three to five times less time than developing in Java, is a great building block for learning both procedural and object-oriented programming concepts, and is an ideal language for data analysis. Beginning Programming with Python For Dummies is the perfect guide to this dynamic and powerful programming language--even if you've never coded before! Author John Paul Mueller draws on his vast programming knowledge and experience to guide you step-by-step through the syntax and logic of programming with Python and provides several real-world programming examples to give you hands-on experience trying out what you've learned. Provides a solid understanding of basic computer programming concepts and helps familiarize you with syntax and logic Explains the fundamentals of procedural and object-oriented programming Shows how Python is being used for data analysis and other applications Includes short, practical programming samples to apply your skills to real-world programming scenarios Whether you've never written a line of code or are just trying to pick up Python, there's nothing to fear with the fun and friendly Beginning Programming with Python For Dummies leading the way.
Game Design Workshop by Tracy Fullerton
Call Number: QA76.76.C672 F84 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-27
Tracy Fullerton''s Game Design Workshop covers pretty much everything a working or wannabe game designer needs to know. She covers game theory, concepting, prototyping, testing and tuning, with stops along the way to discuss what it means to a professional game designer and how to land a job.
How to Design Programs by Matthias Felleisen; Robert Bruce Findler; Matthew Flatt; Shriram Krishnamurthi
Call Number: QA76.6 .H697 2018
Publication Date: 2018-05-04
A completely revised edition, offering new design recipes for interactive programs and support for images as plain values, testing, event-driven programming, and even distributed programming. This introduction to programming places computer science at the core of a liberal arts education. Unlike other introductory books, it focuses on the program design process, presenting program design guidelines that show the reader how to analyze a problem statement, how to formulate concise goals, how to make up examples, how to develop an outline of the solution, how to finish the program, and how to test it. Because learning to design programs is about the study of principles and the acquisition of transferable skills, the text does not use an off-the-shelf industrial language but presents a tailor-made teaching language. For the same reason, it offers DrRacket, a programming environment for novices that supports playful, feedback-oriented learning. The environment grows with readers as they master the material in the book until it supports a full-fledged language for the whole spectrum of programming tasks. This second edition has been completely revised. While the book continues to teach a systematic approach to program design, the second edition introduces different design recipes for interactive programs with graphical interfaces and batch programs. It also enriches its design recipes for functions with numerous new hints. Finally, the teaching languages and their IDE now come with support for images as plain values, testing, event-driven programming, and even distributed programming.
SQL for Dummies by Allen G. Taylor
Call Number: QA76.73.S67 T39 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Get ready to make SQL easy! Updated for the latest version of SQL, the new edition of this perennial bestseller shows programmers and web developers how to use SQL to build relational databases and get valuable information from them. Covering everything you need to know to make working with SQL easier than ever, topics include how to use SQL to structure a DBMS and implement a database design; secure a database; and retrieve information from a database; and much more. SQL is the international standard database language used to create, access, manipulate, maintain, and store information in relational database management systems (DBMS) such as Access, Oracle, SQL Server, and MySQL. SQL adds powerful data manipulation and retrieval capabilities to conventional languages--and this book shows you how to harness the core element of relational databases with ease. Server platform that gives you choices of development languages, data types, on-premises or cloud, and operating systems Find great examples on the use of temporal data Jump right in--without previous knowledge of database programming or SQL As database-driven websites continue to grow in popularity--and complexity--SQL For Dummies is the easy-to-understand, go-to resource you need to use it seamlessly.