Use these databases to find scholarly, peer-review articles for your research assignments. Hover over the "i" icon to learn more about each database. You can use the keywords to the left as search terms to help you begin your research.
Open access journals are scholarly, peer-reviewed, and freely available online without any financial or technical barriers. Click the journal title to visit the journal website and browse the issues.
Here are a few recommended eBooks to help you with your research while we work and learn remotely. Click on the title of the book to read it online. Log-in may be required.
Principles of Biomedical Engineering by
Describing the role of engineering in medicine today, this comprehensive volume covers a wide range of the most important topics in this burgeoning field. Supported with over 145 illustrations, the book discusses bioelectrical systems, mechanical analysis of biological tissues and organs, biomaterial selection, compartmental modeling, and biomedical instrumentation. Moreover, you find a thorough treatment of the concept of using living cells in various therapeutics and diagnostics. Structured as a complete text for courses on the subject, the book also makes a nice reference for professionals new to the bioengineering field.
Retooling Manufacturing by
As the Department of Defense continues development of the future warrior system, the difficulty of moving rapidly from design to manufacturing for complex technologies is becoming a major concern. In particular, there are communication gaps between design and manufacturing that hinder rapid development of new products important for these future military developments. To help address those concerns, DOD asked the NRC to develop a framework for oebridging these gaps through data management, modeling, and simulation. This report presents the results of this study. It provides a framework for virtual design and manufacturing and an assessment of the necessary tools; an analysis of the economic dimensions; an examination of barriers to virtual design and manufacturing in the DOD acquisition process; and a series of recommendations and research needs.
Here are some recommended titles that are available at campus libraries. Click on the title of the book to learn more about it, and from there, scroll to the bottom of the page to check campus availability or to place a hold on the book.
Fundamentals of Building Construction by
Note from the publisher: Now in its sixth edition, this bestselling reference focuses on the basic materials and methods used in building construction. Emphasizing common construction systems such as light wood frame, masonry bearing wall, steel frame, and reinforced concrete construction, the new edition includes new information on building materials properties; the latest on "pre-engineered" building components and sustainability issues; and reflects the latest building codes and standards. It also features an expanded series of case studies along with more axonometric detail drawings and revised photographs for a thoroughly illustrated approach.
The Engineering Handbook by
First published in 1995, The Engineering Handbook quickly became the definitive engineering reference. Although it remains a bestseller, the many advances realized in traditional engineering fields along with the emergence and rapid growth of fields such as biomedical engineering, computer engineering, and nanotechnology mean that the time has come to bring this standard-setting reference up to date. New in the Second Edition 19 completely new chapters addressing important topics in bioinstrumentation, control systems, nanotechnology, image and signal processing, electronics, environmental systems, structural systems 131 chapters fully revised and updated Expanded lists of engineering associations and societies The Engineering Handbook, Second Edition is designed to enlighten experts in areas outside their own specialties, to refresh the knowledge of mature practitioners, and to educate engineering novices. Whether you work in industry, government, or academia, this is simply the best, most useful engineering reference you can have in your personal, office, or institutional library.