This is a co-sponsored awareness packet between SPC Libraries, Project HEAL, and the Tarpon Springs campus Veterans Department
Warning Signs
Helpful web resources on the topics of Suicide Prevention and Mental Wellness Resources
Library Databases on the topic of Psychology and Health and Wellness.
These databases contain many scholarly articles on mental health subjects.
To access our eBooks, you must log into the SPC Library System
Suicide Prevention by
Suicide Prevention: A Holistic Approach contains the selected and edited papers that were presented during the congress Suicide, Disease, Disadvantage, A Holistic Approach, organized by the International Association for Suicide Prevention, which was held in June 1995, in Venice. Suicide prevention is still sadly neglected by governments and public health authorities, despite the fact that in several Western countries suicide has become the primary cause of death among younger age groups. The selected papers express the need for a holistic viewpoint in suicide management. The subjects range from parasuicide to the role of the media, from the special type of psychotherapeutic approach required to the most recent guidelines in pharmacological treatment, from a homage to the memory of Erwin Ringel to the presentation of specific national prevention schemes. The book will be of interest to public health workers, doctors, psychologists and social workers, as well as voluntary staff and their organizations, and to all those who make suicide prevention one of their primary interests.
Suicide Prevention by
Written by a clinical psychologist and illustrated with vignettes from the author's experience, this book offers a clear understanding of how suicidal thought develops, how we can help prevent death from suicide, and how suicidal people can recover and change their way of thinking. * Presents practical information of critical importance that can help prevent death from suicide * Specifically written to serve one of the highest risk and most vulnerable groups to suicide (youth ages 15-24) and provides them with information and resources to save lives * Provides real hope and "a way out" to those feeling suicidal
Suicide and Mental Health by
Delving into a topic of perennial interest and concern, particularly among teenagers, this important volume addresses the full range of issues related to suicide and suggests ways to help those who struggle. While the risk of suicide is increasing across age groups, the good news is that with timely intervention, most suicides are preventable. Written primarily for high school and college students as well as for their teachers and parents, this guide combines relevant research and theories about suicide with current clinical thinking and approaches to diagnosis and treatment. Going beyond the clinical, the volume also explores suicide in history and in popular culture and examines relevant cultural, religious, moral, and ethical viewpoints. It looks at suicide among various demographic groups, probes psychological motivations and methods used, and discusses the controversy surrounding a person's right to die. What differentiates this work from others is that it covers the breadth of the subject but also considers issues in enough depth to make their importance and complexity clear. Readers will better understand the problem of suicide, its impact, and the approaches that can be used to prevent suicide and deal more effectively with at-risk individuals. * Examines the topic from a variety of perspectives and provides insights into current issues and controversies, such as doctor-assisted suicide * Discusses suicide among a variety of age groups and social classes, not just teenagers and college students * Draws on the author's 40 years of clinical and academic experience as well as on the most up-to-date scholarly and professional literature * Serves as a gateway to other resources and further study
Silent Grief by
This book gives insights into the pain and suffering involved when people are grieving for someone who has committed suicide, but it also offers hope without diminishing the significance of the suffering involved. As such, it has a lot to offer, and is therefore to be welcomed.'' - Well-Being ''This book provides deep and valuable insight into the experiences of "suicide survivors" - those who have been left behind by the suicide of friend, family member or loved one.'' - Therapy Today ''The personal stories are full of pathos interest and will clarify where the death leaves those left behind. The list of self-help groups is world wide and it will be useful that you can point the bereaved and traumatized in the right direction.'' - Accident and Emergency Nursing Journal ''The authors describe powerfully the effect of suicide on survivors and the world of silence, shame, guilt and depression that can follow. Author Christopher Lake is a suicide survivor and co-author Henry Seiden is an experienced therapist and educator. They use sensitive and unambiguous language to provide an understanding of what it is like to live in the wake of suicide and the struggle to make sense of the world. They also look at how survivors might actively respond to their situation, rather than being passive victims. This book should be read by any professional who is likely to come into contact with people affected by suicide.'' - Nursing Standard, October 2007 ''The book is well written and relevant to both survivors and professionals concerned for the welfare of those bereaved by suicide.'' - SOBS (Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide) Newsletter ''Silent grief is a book for and about "suicide survivors," defined as people who have experienced the death of a friend or relative through suicide, and for anyone who wants to understand what survivors go through. The book explains the profound, traumatic effect suicide has on individuals bereaved in such circumstances. Using verbatim quotes from survivors it explains how they experience feelings of shame, guilt, anger, doubt, isolation and depression. This book provides good insight into the experience of individuals affected by suicide and can be a useful resource to anybody working with such people - be it prisoners who have lost someone close through suicide or the family of a prisoner following a self-inflicted death in prison. - National Offender Management Service. Safer Custody News. Safer Custody Group. May/June 2007 Silent Grief is a book for and about "suicide survivors" - those who have been left behind by the suicide of a friend or loved one. Author Christopher Lukas is a suicide survivor himself - several members of his family have taken their own lives - and the book draws on his own experiences, as well as those of numerous other suicide survivors. These inspiring personal testimonies are combined with the professional expertise of Dr. Henry M. Seiden, a psychologist and psychoanalytic psychotherapist. The authors present information on common experiences of bereavement, grief reactions and various ways of coping. Their message is that it is important to share one''s experience of "survival" with others and they encourage survivors to overcome the perceived stigma or shame associated with suicide and to seek support from self-help groups, psychotherapy, family therapy, Internet support forums or simply a friend or family member who will listen. This revised edition has been fully updated and describes new forms of support including Internet forums, as well as addressing changing societal attitudes to suicide and an increased willingness to discuss suicide publicly. Silent Grief gives valuable insights into living in the wake of suicide and provides useful strategies and support for those affected by a suicide, as well as professionals in the field of psychology, social work, and medicine.
College Mindfulness Training by
College Mindfulness Trainingis a ground-breaking book that carefully combines selected meditation exercises with guidance explaining the background, scientific context, and practical applications of mindfulness practice. More than just a meditation manual, this book details how and why personal mindfulness practice is essential for the college-aged student. In addition to extensive practical exercises for both beginner and intermediate-level meditation students, the author explores the kinds of institutions and organizations that have arisen out of the popular mindfulness movement and what career options in the field may be available in the future. Throughout the manual, the author provides readers with insights into basic meditation techniques; active and passive meditation techniques; Focused Attention Meditation in both guided and self-guided forms; Open Monitoring Meditation; Informal meditation exercises; a brief history of the MBSR Program and Koru meditation; a survey of current apps and meditation-supportive technology platforms; and detailed instructions for self-driven practice, and a semester-long outline for teachers. A captivating read, this book covers many of the essentials of mindfulness meditation and self-care of interest to college students, making it an essential tool for those of college-age seeking to practice mindfulness meditation as well as college educators seeking a guided system to enhance their students' emotional well-being and academic performance. ditation; a survey of current apps and meditation-supportive technology platforms; and detailed instructions for self-driven practice, and a semester-long outline for teachers. A captivating read, this book covers many of the essentials of mindfulness meditation and self-care of interest to college students, making it an essential tool for those of college-age seeking to practice mindfulness meditation as well as college educators seeking a guided system to enhance their students' emotional well-being and academic performance.
Overcoming Anxiety, Panic, and Depression by
Explores the chemical and non-chemical approaches to common forms of anxiety, panic disorders, and depression, explaining the difference between specific and social phobias and panic and generalized anxiety disorder.
Haunted by Combat by
Across history, the condition has been called soldier's heart, shell shock, or combat fatigue. It is now increasingly common as our service men and women return from Iraq, Afghanistan, and other ongoing combat zones. Since 1990, Veterans' centers here have treated more than 1.6 million affected men and women, including an estimated 100,000 from the Gulf War and an untallied total from the Iraq front and fighting in Afghanistan. The number also includes some 35,000 World War II veterans, because PTSD does not fade easily. Regardless of the months, years, and even decades that have passed, the traumatic events can flash back as seemingly real as they were when they occurred.In Haunted by Combat Paulson and Krippner range across history and into current experiences and treatments for this haunting disorder. They take us into the minds of PTSD-affected veterans, as they struggle against the traumatic events lingering in their minds, sometimes exploding into violent behavior. The authors explain how and why PTSD develops--and how we can help service members take the steps to heal today.
Understanding Combat Related Post Traumatic Stress Disorder by
This introduction to the invisible wound of war, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, explains the historical development of PTSD, its myriad symptoms and the most effective psychological and medical treatments. Combining the basic tenets of cognitive psychotherapy and his own military experience, the author explores such topics as PTSD's effects on families and spouses, fear and anxiety, memory difficulties, feelings of guilt or anger, depression and suicidal thoughts, and others. Because it is a hidden, psychological wound, veterans afflicted with PTSD may find it difficult to understand their symptoms. Veterans and their families can better understand PTSD by reading this book.
