ARTICLES & DATABASES - American Sign Language - ASL - LibGuides at St. Petersburg College

ASL and Deaf Culture Journals

Suggested Databases for Studying Deaf Culture and History

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communications and Mass Media provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

Which Database Should I Use?

The SPC Libraries have access to over 100 online databases. These are broken down by subject area. To view all of the databases by subject, click on the image below or access them through this link.

Use SPC Databases

* SPC library databases use to easily find electronic journal articles about your research topics.

* Reference librarians provides current research and information in all disciplines.

* Database access made available wherever Internet access is readily available.

* Database descriptions about the literature databases are provided below after each title/name.

* Log-on by using the same credentials you use to access MyCourses

Suggested Databases for Literature Criticism and Language

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

American Sign Language - ASL: ARTICLES & DATABASES

ASL and Deaf Culture Journals

Suggested Databases for Studying Deaf Culture and History

Which Database Should I Use?

Use SPC Databases

Suggested Databases for Literature Criticism and Language