Skip to Main Content 
Where can I find History sources?
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century America, 1636-1880 This link opens in a new window
This resource documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. This module also includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General that cover the slave trade, runaway slaves, Reconstruction Acts, and other key 19th century legal issues such as land claims, military affairs, piracy, and mail theft.
Henry Louis Gates Jr and Paula Kerger on "Reconstruction: American After the Civil War."
