Skip to main content

Career Research: Home

A comprehensive look at the databases and sources for career assignments.

This research guide will help you find credible sources for career research assignments and for your personal career decisions. Citation help links are provided.

Ferguson’s Career Guide Center

Ferguson’s Career Guide Center

  • Industries and Careers
  • Education Planning
  • Career Launch
    • Skills Sets
    • Apprenticeships and Internships
  • Advice articles from experts
  • Professional Outlook
  • Career Videos
  • Assessment tools for finding your dream career.

Career Transitions

Career Transitions

  • Click on Browse Career Paths
    • Browse categories 
    • Try searching your specific career interest.
      • Typical Activities
      • Common Tools
      • Videos
      • Career ladder (salaries)
  • Resume and Cover Letter Generator

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

Search your career and the word career, ex. (Nursing AND Career)

Each video has the citation and the transcript available.

E-Book Collection (EBSCOhost)

E-Book Collection (EBSCOhost)

Example of a search (nurs* and career*) The asterisk is a wildcard for additional endings.

Testing & Educational Reference Center (Gale)

Testing & Educational Reference Center

Helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test). Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

 

Education Source

Education Source

Example of a search (career* AND teach*)

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete (Business Careers)

Examples of a search:

(career* AND manage* AND job skills)

(career* AND finance AND (job skills OR training))

(career* AND account* AND (job skills OR training))

Cite Your Sources

Student Career Services

Career Services @ SPC

Career Exploration

Resume and Interview

Internships

Job Board

Events Calendar

 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
(on the web, not an SPC Database)
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a reputable, credible website maintained by the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. 

  • A complete guide to Career Information by Occupation
  • Updated regularly
  • Search feature
  • Occupation Groups
  • Education
  • Pay Levels

O*NET

O*NET 
(on the web, not an SPC Database)

A powerful and credible career research tool funded by the US Department of Labor / Employment and Training Administration.

Browse occupations and explore careers.

Handout

This handout follows the guide as a quick reminder for students.

Career Research (Federal Student Aid) - Click the picture to go to the site

Career Search 

Not sure what careers might be right for you?

Explore careers by Keyword, Industry or use the interest profiler to match your interests to potential careers.

Future forward careers with lots of jobs  

Careers in the "green" economy