General Periodical Databases (news, magazines, journals, reference)
Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the month and year of your birth, in MMYY format.
Academic Search Complete
The largest at SPC, ASC offers articles across all disciplines. See Tutorial Below
CQ Researcher
News and views on legislative matters.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized encyclopedias, such as Encyclopedia of Judacia
JSTOR
Connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines
Newsbank
News (broadcast & print) from across the country and around the globe
Opposing Viewpoints
Pros and cons on social issues
Literature-Related Periodical Databases
Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number or 9999.
Literary Reference Center
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Resources from Gale
Includes over 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children's Literature Review
LitFinder spans history and geography to offer nearly 150,000 poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays representing the work of more than 80,000 authors
Books
Library Catalog
Find print books and other resources in various SPC Libraries.
Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number or 9999.
NetLibrary
Find and read electronic books online across virtually all disciplines. Tutorial
Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number or 9999.
Web
Perhaps an easier way to search SPC databases. See how to link Google Scholar, when working at home, with SPC databases in the tab above. Stick to journal articles, not websites, but do NOT pay for an article. Ask your librarian to help you find it or an alternative.
Learn about how to access Academic Search Complete through SPC Library and how to set up a search using Boolean operators, phrase searching, and limiters, such as "Full-text" and "Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Journals."
Note: Once the video starts playing, you can make it appear in full-screen view by clicking on the screen icon in the lower right corner of the video's screen next to the volume icon. To return to a smaller view, push ESC on your keyboard.