LibGuides: Library & Information Research LIS 1002: Finding Sources

Literary-Related Databases

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window Includes over 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children's Literature Review
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Focuses on a centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The largest database at SPC, ASC offers articles across all disciplines.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window News and views on legislative matters.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Focuses on pros and cons on social issues. Brings together proprietary research with links to viable news sources and credible sites on the open Web. If you haven't chosen a topic, check out the "issues" section for about 100 hot-button issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains Specialized encyclopedias, such as Encyclopedia of Judacia. Acts as more reliable alternative to Wikipedia. Use encyclopedias sparingly, mostly for an overview on a subject.

Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new window This online collection includes resources covering Literature, History, Science, and Health related topics. Funded by: College

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Find and read electronic books online across virtually all disciplines
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window This product offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Users can search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection. Funded by: College and Statewide
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central (formerly MyiLibrary) provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information. Funded by: College
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Find print books and other resources in various SPC Libraries.

Worldcat.org Discover what titles libraries from around the world have available. Good source if looking for a book not in SPC's collection, but don't forget, the library can often get a book and have it delivered to your home campus via our ILL services. Just ask!
Bartleby.com From Aeschylus to Yeats, poetry to fiction, reference to non-fiction, a wide selection of writing is included here.
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Most of these are from the literary canon and in the public domain.