Library & Information Research LIS 1002: Google Scholar Integration

Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/) can link to full-text articles within many of your library's subscription databases. This is an exciting development that can help one, as Sir Isaac Newton once said, "stand on the shoulders of giants" to see above the ever-increasing data smog while discovering scholarly resources that might otherwise be hidden within library databases.

Although Google Scholar's search interface is easy to use and extremely popular, it is not the be-all and end-all of quality research. For example, Google Scholar does not have sophisticated searching functionality that is found within library databases nor does it link to every library database. Nonetheless, Google Scholar, if used properly, can become a great discovery tool that can guide users to quality and frequently hidden library resources.

Below is an example of how Google Scholar "sees" and connects to St. Petersburg College library databases.

Visit http://scholar.google.com and search for "separation of powers."

While on campus, "Find it at SPC" links will display automatically in a list of Google Scholar search results. Look for a relevant Find it at SPC link and click on it.

After clicking on the Find it at SPC link, another page will display that provides options for locating the full text of the article. Next, click on one of the Go buttons.

After clicking on one of the Go buttons, enter your Borrower ID and PIN.

Now the article's citation will display. Select the full-text option and you are well on your way to reading the article.

Will it work from my home computer?

Yes! If you are using Google Scholar off campus, then you will need to set it up to show library access links for St. Petersburg College - Find it at SPC.

Follow these instructions if you wish to use Google Scholar at home.

1. Visit http://scholar.google.com.

2. Click on Scholar Preferences to the right of the Search button.

   

3. In Preferences, under Library Links enter spc (or your college, if different) and then click on the Find Library button.

   

4. Confirm that your college is selected.

   

5. Don't forget to click on the Save Preferences button.