Skip to main content

Public Safety Administration: Finding Sources (Databases)

Give your research paper some CPR... citations, peer-reviewed sources, and research of course! This guide assists with courses offered in Criminal Justice, Fire Science, Emergency Medical Services, and Gang Enforcement Management

Suggested Databases & Search Terms

Databases for Criminal Justice and Public Safety Administration Research

Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the month and year (MMYY) of your birth date. 

Academic Search Complete (ESBCO)

The largest database at SPC, ASC offers articles across all disciplines. 

Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

This database is a great starting point and will provide you information from specialized encyclopedias and reference sources

 Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (ProQuest)

This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.

 CQ Researcher Plus Archives

Check out the pro/con section in the left-hand navigational bar.

 Legal Periodicals & Books (EBSCO)

This database is comprised of Full text plus indexing of the most important legal journals and books.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this databases offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic, journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military and Government Collection provides cover-to-cover Full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

NewsBank

News (broadcast & print from across the country and around the globe.

Opposing Viewpoints

Pros and cons on social issues.

Books

Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number or 9999.

 
Library Catalog

Find books and other resources in various SPC Libraries.

eBook Collection

Find and read over 60,000 electronic books online across virtually all disciplines.

WEB

Advanced Google Search

In the last search box, “Search within a site or domain,”  enter .edu or gov. (more reliable than .com or .org); then, add key terms and perform a search.