English Composition I (ENC 1101) Guide: Finding Sources (Databases)
Find help for research and writing your ENC 1101 research papers. It includes sections on finding a topic, locating sources, evaluating sources, and citing.
Library CatalogThis link opens in a new windowFind print books and other resources in various SPC Libraries.
eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowFind and read electronic books online across virtually all disciplines
Worldcat.orgDiscover what titles libraries from around the world have available. Good source if looking for a book not in SPC's collection, but don't forget, the library can often get a book and have it delivered to your home campus via our ILL services. Just ask!
Bartleby.comFrom Aeschylus to Yeats, poetry to fiction, reference to non-fiction, a wide selection of writing is included here.
Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Most of these are from the literary canon and in the public domain.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowConnects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines
Features news (broadcast & print) from across the country and around the globe
Opposing ViewpointsThis link opens in a new windowFocuses on pros and cons on social issues. Brings together proprietary research with links to viable news sources and credible sites on the open Web. If you haven't chosen a topic, check out the "issues" section for about 100 hot-button issues.
Reference Databases
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryContains Specialized encyclopedias, such as Encyclopedia of Judacia. Acts as more reliable alternative to Wikipedia. Use encyclopedias sparingly, mostly for an overview on a subject.
Literary-Related Databases
Literary Reference Center PlusThis link opens in a new windowProvides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Resources from GaleThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children's Literature Review
Literature Criticism OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFocuses on a centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
