LibGuides: Human Services: Home

General Access to the SPC Libraries Main Website Page

This link opens the main page of the SPC Libraries. Search all resources including books, ebooks, articles and media using the basic or advanced search. You may "Request" print books from other SPC campuses and Florida colleges which will be sent to the campus you select. Students may access Research Help, Databases and Journals tabs. The recommended research resources follow.

Library Main Page
Use the tabs across the top of the page to search SPC holdings, the databases, journals, research guides, or to make an appointment with a librarian or tutor. Use the links on the main page to use Ask a Librarian, book an appointment, use research guides & videos, attend events & workshops, get more library information, contact librarians, and give us feedback. The faculty services' link provides information about ways we collaborate.

Articles & Databases Recommended for Human Services Research

Using Library Databases for research has many advantages for finding credible sources. Library Databases provide curated journal and magazine articles, books, images, videos and primary sources. Databases contain scholarly and peer-reviewed articles written by credible authors, researchers and experts in their field. Database search tools help users target the results for the information they need. Most databases provide suggested citations which should be verified using the APA, MLA or CSE style manuals.

APPI Psychiatry Online DSM-5 This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing. Funded by: College
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users. Funded by: State Library of Florida
Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management. Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
DSM-5 This link opens in a new window The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. DSM is intended to serve as a practical, functional, and flexible guide for organizing information that can aid in the accurate diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. It is a tool for clinicians, an essential educational resource for students and practitioners, and a reference for researchers in the field.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently. Funded by: College

Journals

Search for a list of journals on this topic or specific journals available through SPC Libraries.

Books & E-Books

Library Online - Search for books and e-books available at SPC. Print books from other SPC campuses and Florida colleges will be sent to the campus you select if you click on "Request."

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts. Funded by: College and Statewide
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window This product offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Users can search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection. Funded by: College and Statewide

Films on Demand Database

Films on Demand - Streaming video covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Websites

Course Reserves

From the Library Main Page, select the Course Reserves Tab and search by instructor, course number, course title or department. Course Reserves are print materials, physically available in the specified libraries. These materials are available for check out for in-library use only.

Free Online eTextbooks

Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 781 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

OpenStax OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. As an educational initiative, it's our mission to transform learning so that education works for every student. We publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.

APA Citation Assistance

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.-Print Edition) is located in the library at BF 76.7 .P83 2020.

APA Citation Help Guide gives excellent guidance for formatting APA citations.

Online APA Website is provided by the American Psychological Association.

APA Power Point

Video Tutorials

Visit our video tutorials! Learning Center basics, Research Strategies and Database Instruction.