This is the "Database Log-on for Research" page of the "Library Research Guide for Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Research Guide for Students  

Designed to help students develop APA and MLA citations, research papers, thesis statements, outlines and more!
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2012 URL: http://spcollege.libguides.com/research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Database Log-on for Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Database Log-on

The SPC Library's Databases will provide the researcher with a variety of information, such as journal, newspaper, and magazine articles.

Researchers can access the library databases by following these steps:

Borrower ID:  Use your Student ID or employee number                                                                                                                                                                                                     

PIN:  Use the last 4 digits of your Social Security

 

F.I.N.D.S. Model

F.I.N.D.S. SPC FINDS Research Model demonstrated during the workshop.

 

FMG VIDEOS

Use this database to locate a variety of video clips about different subjects.

 

WELCOME!

 

Welcome to your personalized research

Lib Guide. Provided is information such as 

the APA and MLA citation format.

 

SCHOLARY vs. POPULAR PERIODICALS

This video clip explains the difference between Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) periodicals and  Popular periodicals. The video also demonstrates characteristics of a scholarly article.

 

Choosing Database Keywords

This video explains that to effectively search library databases one should use only two to four well-chosen keywords.

 

Talking to Databases

This video explains how to effectively identify keywords to search library databases.

Transitioning To College: Talking to Databases

 

REF WORKS

Use REF WORKS to store your research articles. 

 

THESIS BUILDER

 

This website functions to assists the researcher with building their thesis statement and outline. Click on:

Thesis Builder

 

APA / MLA CITATIONS

Click on one of the following citation formats for guidance:

APA Citations

MLA Citations

The website below will assist the researcher with creating their APA or MLA citations.

Landmark Citation Machine 

 

Need REF Help?

For additional assistance use the online Ask-a-Librarian website or consult your campus librarian face-to-face at:

Clearwater Library

Reference Desk:

(727) 791-2411

Clearwater Campus Library Hours
Mon - Thurs
  7:30am - 9:00pm
 Friday             7:30am - 4:00pm
 Saturday      10:00am - 5:00pm

 Sunday      closed


Visit an Online Librarian for research assistance:

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip