This is the "Databases" page of the "About Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Databases   Tags: databases, tutorials  

What is a database? How do I find the databases? How do I use the databases to search for articles?
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2012 URL: http://spcollege.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Tutorials by Vendor

Use the tabs at the top of the page, or click below to access tutorials by vendor:

ARTStor

Digital Media Tutorials

EBSCOhost

Facts on File

Gale

JSTOR

Lexis-Nexis

Newsbank

Other Databases

Proquest

RefWorks

Wilson

 

Database Facts:

What are Databases?

  • Databases are collections of articles from journals and magazines.
  • You can access thousands of articles (general or scholarly).
  • SPC Libraries subscribe to over 50 databases!
  • Databases are accessible through the Finding Articles section of the library web site.
  • In order to access our databases you must be enrolled in a class within the current semester.
  • You can access databases off-campus. You will  need to provide your Borrower ID (Student Number)  and PIN (last 4-digits of your Social Security Number). If you receive an error please contact a librarian.
  • There are some databases/ e-journals, mainly in the Health and Medicine field, that require a unique username and password. Please ask a reference librarian if you need to access one of these databases/e-journals.
  • When using most style formats, (e.g., MLA, APA), you will need to cite an article from a database differently than an article from a print publication.
 

Database Help

Most databases will feature definitions, tips, and search suggestions.  These will often be accessible through a HELP link at the top of a database's webpage.
 

Need More Help?

For additional assistance, consult your campus librarian at:

Online Assistance:

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip