Starting Your Research

Library Databases

Your Borrower ID is your student or employee number, and your PIN is your 4-digit birth month and year. For example, if you were born March 1980, your PIN is 0380.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
America's News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Websites

U.S. Department of Justice
Find information and news about the Office of the U.S. Attorney General.
Presidential Actions Archive
Review past actions of U.S. presidents, including executive orders, appointments, and memorandums.
Local Non-Profit Organizations
Provided by the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce.
Special Interest Groups
Project Vote Smart reports on performance evaluations from all special interest groups (SIGs) who provide them, regardless of issue or bias.
E Pluribus Unum? The Fight Over Identity Politics
Stacey Abrams and other authors respond to Francis Fukuyama's Foreign Affairs essay "Against Identity Politics" and discuss the meaning and value of identity politics.

Search the web for information from only government website using the search query below. Just type your search term(s) after the string "site:.gov."

Books & eBooks

SPC Libraries
Visit the SPC Libraries homepage to search for print books, ebooks, journal articles, and much more.

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO is now a key provider of eBooks and audiobooks to libraries and other institutions worldwide. The synergy of eBooks and audiobooks with EBSCOs multifaceted collection of electronic content provides libraries with even more options for fulfilling their growing electronic information needs. Making eBook and audiobook content accessible via the popular EBSCOhost interface will provide for a more powerful, fully-integrated user experience and prove valuable to librarians, students, and researchers. EBSCO offers a rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.

Funded by: College and Statewide