Skip to main content

BSN (Nursing): Library Journal Databases

Library Information

St. Petersburg College
Caruth Health Education Center
7200 66th St. North
Pinellas Park, FL 33733

727-341-3604


Meet Your HEC Librarians:

Joshua Brown
(727) 341-3657

Shilo Smith
(727) 341-3673


Library Hours:
Mon - Thurs: 7:30AM - 9:00PM
Fri:  7:30AM - 4:00PM
Sat: 10:00AM - 3:00PM
Sun: Closed

After hours help is available via AskALibrarian. You can chat, text, or email with an academic librarian.

Journal Listing

Journals A-Z 

Electronic listing of all of SPC's online journal subscriptions. To see availability of a specific journal, simply type in its title to the search blank.

Library Journal Databases

AAPI Psychiatry -PscychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5™—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) - The world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) - The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

Cochrane Library (Wiley) - The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world’s best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.

Global Road Warrior (Wold Trade Press) - Covering 175 countries, this database covers cultural references, customs, economic and travel information.

Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale) - Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources.

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) - An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources.

Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) - Provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.

LexisNexis - Full text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) - Comprehensive source of full text journals covering medicine, nursing, allied health, health services and related life sciences; full text for nearly 1,200 journals and more than 1,400,000 full-text articles dating back to 1965.

Natural Standard - Clinical decision support tool that is designed to help clinicians and consumers on the safety and efficacy of herbs, supplements, vitamins, diets, nutrition, exercise, and complementary practices (eg. yoga, chiropractic).

Nursing @ Ovid - Access to nursing journals SPC has individual subscriptions to online.

Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest) - Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) - Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) - Access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles. These journal and reference works are exclusive to ScienceDirect. Choose from Social and Behavioral Sciences, Health and Life Sciences or Physical Sciences.  

Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology (Ovid) - An app that visually and interactively engages students in the core concepts of an undergraduate A&P course. This app offers a basic understanding of the human body.