LibGuides: IDS Research Guide: Finding Sources (Databases, etc)

Books/eBooks

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Find print books and other resources in various SPC Libraries.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Find and read electronic books online across virtually all disciplines

Worldcat.org
Discover what titles libraries from around the world have available. Good source if looking for a book not in SPC's collection, but don't forget, the library can often get a book and have it delivered to your home campus via our ILL services. Just ask!
Bartelby.com
From Aeschylus to Yeats, poetry to fiction, reference to non-fiction, a wide selection of writing is included here.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Most of these are from the literary canon and in the public domain.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains Specialized encyclopedias, such as Encyclopedia of Judacia. Acts as more reliable alternative to Wikipedia. Use encyclopedias sparingly, mostly for an overview on a subject.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia database contains over 25,000 records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.

News, magazine, and journal articles across multiple fields of study

Your Borrower ID is your Student Number and your PIN is the month and year (MMYY) of your birth date.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The largest database at SPC, ASC offers articles across all disciplines.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window News and views on legislative matters.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Connects libraries, researchers, teachers, and students around the world with vital scholarly content in more than 50 disciplines

Newsbank
Features news (broadcast & print) from across the country and around the globe

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Focuses on pros and cons on social issues. Brings together proprietary research with links to viable news sources and credible sites on the open Web. If you haven't chosen a topic, check out the "issues" section for about 100 hot-button issues.

Springer eCollection
SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window Includes over 75,000 selected full-text critical essays and reviews from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, as well as Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Children's Literature Review
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Focuses on a centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.

Librivox
Offers an extensive collection of free audio books (public domain) read by volunteers.

ART
HISTORY
History Center
offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
GENERAL HUMANITIES

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

LITERATURE
See Literary-Related Databases at left
MUSIC
Fine Arts & Music Collection (Gale)
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
See full Music guide here
RELIGION/PHILOSOPHY/
PSYCHOLOGY

Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window A searchable Religion and Philosophy electronic collection. Funded by: State Library of Florida

PsychArticles
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.
Psychology Collection (Gale)
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP has over 1,500 published entries from Abelard to Zombies.