LibGuides: Harlem Renaissance Project: Getting Started

Library Databases

A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data

Salem History
Decade by decade events

Grove Art Online
Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art

Humanities Full Text
Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.

Issues and Controversies
Issue Timelines

Biography in Context
Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword

Biography Index
Besides biographies and autobiographies, it includes citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews

JSTOR
Literary Criticism

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Resource Description: (Gale) - Contains the complete archived contents of Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Getting Started

Let's get started:

Check out a biography of your author/artist.
Biography in Context
Biography Index
Biography.com

Investigate the key events, attitudes, culture anything that would have influenced or restrained the artist's work.
Encyclopedia entry from Salem History on Harlem Renaissance
Salem History
America's Stor y
Digital History

We have provided many links to databases and websites that can help you with this research.
Here are links to basic research and the citation guides.
Research Guide for Students
MLA Citation Guide

LIFE photo from "History of Music Players" timeline

Other photo timelines from LIFE

How Do I Log In?

You'll need to log in to use the library's resources.

Your borrower ID is your student number and
Your PIN is your 4-digit date of birth (MMYY) – for example, if you were born in May 1999, your PIN would be 0599

If you need help logging in please contact your library.