St. Petersburg College
Caruth Health Education Center
7200 66th St. North
Pinellas Park, FL 33781
727-341-3604
To search for additional books use the online Library Catalog
Assessing and Treating Culturally Diverse Clients– Paniagua
Call Number: BF637 .C6 P264 201
Caring for patients from different cultures – Galanti
Call Number: RT86.54 .G35 2015
Caring for patients from different cultures (2015 edition) – Galanti
Cross-cultural medicine – Bigby
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 C765 2003
Cultural awareness in nursing and health care: An introductory text - Holland
Call number: RT86.54 .H64 2018
Cultural competence in health care: A practice guide – Rundle
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 H65 1999b
Cultural diversity in health & illness – Spector
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 S64 2013
Cultural diversity: A primer for the human services – Diller
Call Number: HV3176 .T55 2011
Culture care: Guide to heritage assessment and health traditions – Spector
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 S643 2004
Culture care diversity and universality: A worldwide nursing theory – Leininger
Call Number: RT86.54 .C85 2006
Delivering culturally competent nursing care – Kersey-Matusiak
Call Number: RA418.5 .T73 K47 2013
2019 (2nd ed.) available as E-Book (Login required to view online)
Guide to culturally competent health care – Purnell
Call Number: RA418.5 .T73 P87 2005
2014 (3rd ed.) available as E-Book (Login required to view online)
Leininger's transcultural nursing: Concepts, theories, research & practice - McFarland
Call number: RT86.54 .L44 2018
The essential guide to religious traditions and spirituality for health care providers – Jeffers
Call Number: BL65 .M4 E89 2013
Teaching cultural competence in nursing and health care: Inquiry, action, and motivation - Jeffreys
Available as E-book (Login required to view online)
They do what? A cultural encyclopedia of extraordinary and exotic from around the world - Galvan
Transcultural caring dynamics in nursing and health - Ray
Call Number: RT86.54 .R39 2016
Also available as E-Book (Login required to view online)
Transcultural concepts in nursing care – Andrews
Call Number: RT86.54 .A53 2012 and RT86.54 .A53 2016
Transcultural nursing: Assessment & intervention – Giger
Call Number: RT86.54 .T73 2017 and RT86.54 .T73 2014
Transcultural nursing theory and models: Application in nursing education, practice and administration - Sagar
Call Number: RT86.54 .S24 2012
Also available as E-Book (Login required to view online)
Databases:
Search CINAHL or MEDLINE - journal databases with the following suggested terms:
Search general terms: Transcultural Care OR Transcultural Nursing OR Cultural Diversity OR Cultural Competence
Search specific cultures: Hispanic OR Latino OR Mexican OR Mexico, Greeks OR Greece
Search
Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press) - Covering 175 countries, this database covers cultural references, customs, economic and travel information.
Selected Journal Titles
To access specific issues of these journals use the A-Z Journal List.
Cross-Cultural Research
Journal of Cultural Diversity
Journal of Transcultural Nursing
CIA World Factbook
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook. Each country profile tracks demographics such as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
This site provides comprehensive data on disease control and prevention, including extensive statistical information on health problems affecting minority groups in the United States.
EthnoMed
Provides information on cultural beliefs, language, and health issues of recent immigrants.
MEDLINEplus Health Information
Includes links to Web sites dealing with health issues for various ethnic groups and special populations.
Transcultural Nursing Society
An international group of nurses (and other healthcare professionals).
US Census
Provides statistics and population trends for various ethnic groups.
World Health Organization
Organizing group within the United Nations dealing with Health and Health related topics.
African American Center for African American Health
Asian Pacific Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations
Chinese Chinese Community Health Resource Center
Hispanic National Alliance for Hispanic Health
Hmong HmongHealth.org
Native Americans National Indian Health Board
Refugees Refugee Health Information Network
Florida Refugees Florida Refugee Health Program
Drug Information Portal - National Library of Medicine (NLM)
A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia - MedlinePlus
Medical Dictionary - MedlinePlus
Merck Medical Pronunciation - Merck (speakers/headset required)