LibGuides: About Databases: EBSCOhost Tutorials

Direct Access to EBSCO Databases

Click on each of the following database titles for direct access.

Borrower ID: Your SPC Student/Faculty ID Number

PIN: Last 4 digits of your SSN

Hold the cursor over each title for a description.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window The world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
ERIC This link opens in a new window A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC records now include full-text documents from the ERIC Digest at no extra charge. The database includes the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. Includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Health and Nursing
Health, medicine, nursing

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

MAS- Ultra School Edition
Education

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Government documents, military documents
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Psychology, sociology
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Student Research Center
Multi-disciplinary

Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities. This bibliographic database provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education. Funded by: Statewide Allocation

EBSCOhost Databases Tutorials

The following are links to tutorials created by the database vendors. Please note: these are links to external sites not maintained by SPC.

Using the Advanced Search with Guided Style
Using the Basic Search
All EBSCOhost Tutorials
These are all the tutorials designed for EBSCOhost databases. Please note that some of these may not apply to those databases subscribed to by SPC Libraries.

CINAHL Tutorials

Academic Search Complete Tutorial 1

Learn about how to access Academic Search Complete through SPC Library and how to set up a search using Boolean operators, phrase searching, and limiters, such as "Full-text" and "Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Journals."

Note: Once the video starts playing, you can make it appear in full-screen view by clicking on the screen icon in the lower right corner of the video's screen next to the volume icon. To return to a smaller view, push ESC on your keyboard.

Created by Matthew Bodie, librarian, Tarpon Springs Campus