Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

A
A Guide to Law & Paralegal Resources
by Donna Kelly, Kim Wolff - Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
Learn how to use Lexis Nexis and other legal and paralegal resources.
About Databases
by Paula Bagwell, Alyssa Money - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
What is a database? How do I find the databases? How do I use the databases to search for articles?
Academic Tutoring Services, Clearwater Campus
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Learn about the various free tutoring services available to you on the Clearwater campus.
ADN (Nursing)
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
All College Day Faculty Workshop
by Matthew Bodie, Antoinette Caraway, Gail Lancaster, Mika Nelson - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Provides faculty with APA and MLA citations.
American Government
by Alistair Glover - Last Updated Jun 18, 2012
American National Government: Library Resources
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Give your paper the Presidential seal of approval! How to locate sources for your POS 2041 research papers, information on domestic and foreign policy issues, lobbyists, and interest groups.
ANGEL Workshops
by Matthew Bodie, Gail Lancaster, Kelly Malizia - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
APA / MLA Citation Assistance
by Paula Bagwell, Antoinette Caraway, Donna Kelly - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
This guide will provide you with the basics of MLA and APA citations including sample papers, how to set up your research paper in Microsoft Word, and how to cite in-text sources.
APA Citation Help Guide
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 15, 2013
APA Workshop
by Jennifer Gregor, Patrick McGough - Last Updated Jun 12, 2012
Argument/Persuasion
by Shelbey Rosengarten - Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
Use these resources to find what you need for the argumentative essay
Ask Questions to Improve Your Writing
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
Before submitting your papers, reflect on your writing. Ask questions. Here are some that you may consider.
B
Banned Book Week 2012
by April Hathcock - Last Updated Oct 7, 2012
It's coming...Banned Book Week 2012 is September 30 through October 6. Come by the Tarpon Springs Library and Learning Support Commons to find out more about banned and challenged books and to engage in a bit of literary fun!
Basic Grammar and Punctuation
by Kathy Bryson - Last Updated May 17, 2013
The tutorials below address basic grammar and punctuation errors writers routinely have. Use these guidelines to proofread and correct errors in your papers before submission. For hands-on help, see a tutor in your campus Learning Support Commons.
Biology & Applied Sciences: Library Resources
by Paula Bagwell, Alyssa Money - Last Updated Apr 19, 2013
Explore this guide to get help locating scientific journal articles and citing your sources in APA or CSE format.
BSN (Nursing)
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Business - College of Business
by Alex Bawell, Donna Kelly - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
Business Administration, Management & Organizational Leadership, International Business, Banking, Sustainability & Entrepreneurship.
Business Plan/Elevator Pitch Contest
by Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Dec 12, 2012
Resources and Guides to creating successful business plans and elevator pitch presentations.
C
Capstone Research Help for College of Business Students
by Alex Bawell, Donna Kelly - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
Need help with your senior capstone project? The librarians are here with research tips to get you through!
CEI 3: Learning Resources
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jul 24, 2012
Censorship and Education
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Includes a history of censorship in America, banned books, literacy information, and selection tools for children's literature.
Chad Mairn's Academic Departments are ...
by Chad Mairn - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Business Technologies, Fine Arts, Music and Humanities departments on the Gibbs campus. LibGuides is a way for me to share resources and to keep in contact with faculty and students.
Colección en Español / Spanish Language Collection
by Alyssa Money, Jorge Perez - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
Browse the online and on campus collections of Spanish language materials.
College Success Guide (SLS 1101)
by Paula Bagwell, Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Find help on your Biography or Habits assignment, your Career assignment, how to use the AskaLibrarian service, and tips on time management and study skills.
Computer and Information Technology
by Donna Kelly - Last Updated Oct 16, 2012
Research help for the field of computers and information technology including links to databases.
Connect * Collaborate * Contribute
by Jacqui Cash - Last Updated Dec 14, 2012
Copyright Information
by Paula Bagwell, Kim Wolff - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Find out how to use information ethically. Includes links to free music and images that you can use in your course presentations... legally! Information on copyright and fair use for both students and faculty.
Creative center
by Maureen Davis - Last Updated May 17, 2013
Quick access to information to aid the students in their academic studies
D
Database Troubleshooting
by Chad Mairn - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
Having trouble logging into the library databases or eBooks? This guide can help!
Dental Hygiene
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Discovering Compelling Topics
by Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Tools and resources for topic search
Donna's New Chapter
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Feb 13, 2013
Down and Dirty Tips: Cause or Effect Essay
by Karen Walker - Last Updated May 1, 2013
Tips for students on writing a Cause / Effect essay. While this guide is not comprehensive, it does provide enough information for to students to follow and pass the assignment. This guide is especially helpful for those who don't have much time.
Down and Dirty Tips: Compare or Contrast Essay
by Karen Walker - Last Updated May 1, 2013
Tips for students on writing a Compare / Contrast essay. While this guide is not comprehensive, it does provide enough information for to students to follow and pass the assignment. This guide is especially helpful for those who don't have much time.
E
eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eReaders
by Paula Bagwell, Alyssa Money - Last Updated Apr 22, 2013
Looking for the latest vampire novel? Learn how to download the latest eBooks and eAudiobooks for free on your handheld device!
EDF 2085: Teaching Diverse Populations
by Jennifer Bawell - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Research assistance for Micro-Cultures Assignment
Education Materials Curriculum Center
by Matthew Bodie, Betty Gaston, Donna Kelly - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Teaching materials for students in the College of Education. Includes: Lesson Plans, Activities, Rubrics & Assessments and Teacher Tools.
Emergency Medical Services
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
ENC 1102 Classic Film Assignment
by Jennifer Gregor, Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
A guide to library and web resources for classic film research.
English Composition I (ENC 1101) Guide
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Find help for research and writing your ENC 1101 research papers. It includes sections on finding a topic, locating sources, evaluating sources, and citing.
English Composition II (ENC 1102) Guide
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
Make your Comp II ENC 1102 research papers shine! This guide includes help with finding a topic, locating sources, evaluating sources, and citing.
English for Academic Purposes (EAP/ESL)
by Judy Macdonald - Last Updated Mar 27, 2013
Reading, writing, grammar, and listening/speaking support for all levels of non-native speakers of English.
ENL 2012 Wilson
by Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Feb 5, 2012
Entrepreneurship
by Donna Kelly, Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Resources to start new projects and business enterprises.
Ethics Research
by Paula Bagwell, Patricia Barbier, Jennifer Bawell, Matthew Bodie, Antoinette Caraway, Gail Lancaster - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
"A man without ethics is a wild beast loosed upon this world." Albert Camus
Evaluating Websites
by Gail Lancaster - Last Updated Jul 6, 2011
Includes Introductory Video and questions one must ask when evaluating websites
Evaluation Project
by Matthew Bodie, Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Aug 4, 2012
Evidence-Based Practice in the Health Sciences
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 15, 2013
F
F.I.N.D.S. Research Model
by Gail Lancaster - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Discover five steps of the research process that will simplify your life
Free Legal Research
by April Hathcock - Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
Did you know that LexisNexis and Westlaw charge thousands of dollars for their online research services? Here's a guide to some of the best free legal research sites to help you help future employers save money!
Funeral Services
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
G
Get The "You" Outta Here
by Karen Walker - Last Updated Aug 9, 2012
Spotting and Removing Second Person from Academic Writing
Guide to Research Using Journal Articles
by Karen Johnson - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Ever wonder why your instructor requires you to use articles from journals in your research paper?
H
Harlem Renaissance Project
by Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Nov 7, 2011
Health Information Management
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Health Services Administration
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Hellenic Studies
by Alyssa Money - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Discover Ancient Greek mythology, culture, philosophy, and language
Henkel Articles
by Jennifer Bawell - Last Updated Dec 20, 2012
Hot Topics
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jun 5, 2012
List of Issues from Opposing Viewpoints database.
How to Write a News Article
by Kathy Bryson - Last Updated May 17, 2013
Basic guidelines for creating news articles in print, photos, and video.
Humanities
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated May 24, 2011
This guide will provide you with resources for various courses in the Humanities. This includes databases, books, multimedia, and web material.
I
IDS 1102H
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
Improving Your Spelling
by Karen Walker - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Rules of Thumb for Standard American English Spelling
Influences on 20th Century Creatives
by Jennifer Gregor, Linda Reifler-Alessi, Shelbey Rosengarten - Last Updated Apr 24, 2013
Investigate the key events, attitudes, culture, trends, and traditions from the era of your choosing.
Internet Research CGS 1100 Smith
by Jennifer Bawell - Last Updated Oct 5, 2010
Internet Research Guide for Christine Smith's CGS 1100
Interpersonal Communications (COM 3131)
by Matthew Bodie, Donna Kelly - Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Learn ideas & keywords for search strategies in the field of interpersonal communication.
J
Jennifer Bawell-Librarian Page
by Jennifer Bawell - Last Updated Jan 27, 2011
Contact information for Jennifer Bawell and access to course guides.
Jennifer Gregor--Embedded Librarian Page
by Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Contact information, links, and resources for classes I'm working with as an embedded librarian.
L
Learning Support Center, Clearwater Campus
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Sep 9, 2012
Find out about the free tutoring services at the Learning Support Center at Clearwater campus. Receive help from professional and student tutors on understanding concepts and applications in science, math, and technology courses.
Legal Citation for Court Documents and Legal Memoranda
by Jowita Wysocka - Last Updated Oct 9, 2012
An at-a-glance summary of commonly cited legal sources under Florida citation rules and The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation.
Lewandowski-ENC 1101-Florida Problem Paper
by Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
A class guide for the research paper
LexisNexis Academic Support Resources
by Alex Bawell - Last Updated May 3, 2013
LexisNexis Academic Support Resources
Library & Information Research LIS 1002
by Heather Disler - Last Updated Aug 20, 2011
This course is designed to develop information literacy skills and to help students become full participants in all the information available to them. It introduces students to the core concepts of information retrieval, research and writing papers.
Library & Information Research-SPC1608Austin
by Jennifer Bawell - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Guide for Austin SPC1608
Library Apps, Widgets, and more!
by Chad Mairn - Last Updated Feb 2, 2011
Library Locations and Hours
by Jorge Perez - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
Library Orientation
by Gail Lancaster - Last Updated Jul 31, 2012
This video presentation guides you to resources available in the M. M. Bennett Libraries
Library Research Guide for Students
by Matthew Bodie, Antoinette Caraway, Gail Lancaster, Mika Nelson - Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Designed to help students develop APA and MLA citations, research papers, thesis statements, outlines and more!
Linda Reifler-Alessi--Embedded Librarian
by Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
Contact information, links, and resources for classes I'm working with as an embedded librarian.
M
Madeleine's Worksheet List
by Madeleine Bohrer - Last Updated Jul 31, 2012
This is a list of worksheets I have available to assist students with various math topics.
Marketing
by Alex Bawell, Donna Kelly, Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
Includes databases on demographics, marketing tutorials, company information, and industry forecasts
Mathematics
by Crystal Cullifer - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
You + math handouts = an improved grade! Check out this guide full of helpful tutorials from Developmental Math through Calculus!
Mathematics for Liberal Arts II
by Antoinette Caraway - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Designed to be supportive of everyday math calculations.
Medical Laboratory Technology
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Mrs. Walker's Favorite Distractions
by Karen Walker - Last Updated Aug 11, 2012
If you're in need of break from working on a paper, spend a few minutes (just a few) poking around here to recharge. Then, get back to work on that paper; it's not going to write itself.
N
New Books
by Chad Mairn - Last Updated Dec 10, 2011
O
Organizational Communication
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
Organizational Communications (COM 3120)
by Matthew Bodie, Donna Kelly - Last Updated Nov 29, 2012
Research guide for organizational communications including how to prepare an annotated bibliography, citing, and locating sources.
Orthotics and Prosthetics
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 15, 2013
P
Pharmacology Resources for Nursing
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Physical Therapist Assistant
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Places-USA
by Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012
This guide will direct you to the resources for reserching your "place" in the USA
Plagiarism & Academic Integrity
by Jenica Ibarra - Last Updated Mar 11, 2013
Point/Counterpoint Writing Assignment
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jun 18, 2012
Popular Culture and Film
by Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated May 30, 2012
Prof Bodie - ENC 1101 - Technology Impact Digital Writing Assignment
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Mar 29, 2013
This guide presents articles for Prof. Bodie ENC 1101 course for a digital writing assignment using broad themes to discuss technology's impact on writers' lives.
Professor Moses' ECO 2000
by Alec Konstantin - Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
Professor Roberson's INR 2002
by Alec Konstantin - Last Updated Jul 16, 2012
Project Management
by Donna Kelly, Kim Wolff - Last Updated Dec 13, 2012
Guide for students studying project management. Includes information on PMI standards, procurement/supply chain including online journal articles and books available.
Psychology: Library Resources
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Don't let your grade Freudian slip! Use this library guide to create a high quality research paper with scholarly peer-reviewed sources.
Public Safety Administration
by Matthew Bodie, Betty Gaston - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
Give your research paper some CPR... citations, peer-reviewed sources, and research of course! This guide assists with courses offered in Criminal Justice, Fire Science, Emergency Medical Services, and Gang Enforcement Management
R
Radiography
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Reading Matters
by Linda Molinaro - Last Updated Nov 2, 2012
Research & Writing Tips for SLS 1101 Students
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
This guide discusses the very valuable and practical skills of writing and research for students in the College Experience classes.
Research Workshop
by Linda Reifler-Alessi - Last Updated Apr 23, 2013
Find everything you learned in the your class library session here.
Respiratory Therapy
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Roundtable on Food
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
S
Sciences
by Crystal Cullifer - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
You and this guide will have great chemistry! Check out some useful handouts for science!
SEEI
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Mar 11, 2012
Using the SEEI method helps you create strong, usable components for creating a solid essay and for keeping your writing on topic.
Short Story Analysis
by Jenica Ibarra - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
How to find short story overviews, criticism, and analysis.
Social History
by Paula Bagwell, Alyssa Money - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Social Sciences Guide
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
Includes research information for students in Economics, Psychology, Political Science/ Government, History, and Sociology
Social Sciences Research
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Sep 3, 2012
Social science research, or social research as it is sometimes called, stems from the natural sciences, and similar to its precursory field, it uses empirical, measurable outcomes to arrive at a conclusion.
Sociology, World Religion
by Kenneth Davis - Last Updated May 16, 2013
Quick access to information to aid the students in their academic studies of Sociology and World Religions.
SPC Table Top Titans Student Club
by Paula Bagwell, Victor Dukes - Last Updated Oct 9, 2012
Learn a new game or bring your own! This group is open to any SPC student who has an interest in table top games, Chess, or strategy board games. The group is informal and meets in the SPC Tarpon Springs Library weekly.
St. Petersburg College Archives
by Dorothy Bell - Last Updated Nov 27, 2012
The College Archives includes, books, documents, images, and artifacts of St. Petersburg Junior and Gibbs Junior College.
Summer Workshops
by Matthew Bodie, Jacqui Cash - Last Updated May 17, 2013
Supplemental Instruction
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Learning Resources offers supplemental instruction for select courses with high enrollment and low completion. Find out more about this program here.
Supporting Blended Learning
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Dec 8, 2012
T
The Laramie Project
by Kim Wolff - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
This guide is based on The Laramie Project, a chronicle of the life of the town of Laramie in the year after the murder of Matthew Shepard.
The Unknown
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
News and research in the fields of Math & Science
Therapeutic Communication (FITNE)
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated Sep 12, 2012
THINK Critical
by Jorge Perez - Last Updated Oct 20, 2011
Social and Behavioral Sciences eNewsletter
Today’s Technology in the Classrooms of Higher Education
by Alex Bawell - Last Updated Oct 18, 2012
With the emerging generation of born digital natives, it is imperative for educators to be able to leverage existing technologies in effort to enhance the online and classroom learning experience.
Transcultural Nursing and Health Care
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
Tutoring Survey
by Jennifer Gregor - Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Twentieth Century World History
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
U
U.S. History- Presidential Elections
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
Research guide designed for students in AMH 2010
Unblock Your Writing
by April Hathcock - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Got an assignment and not sure how to get started? Here are some tips and tricks to help you get rid of that pesky writer's block!
V
Veterinary Technology
by Josh Brown, Shilo Smith - Last Updated May 14, 2013
W
Wellness @ the Library
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Jun 22, 2012
World Literature Resources
by Paula Bagwell - Last Updated Jan 17, 2013
World Religions - Research & Information Guide
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Feb 21, 2013
Transcend your World Religions research paper! Learn how to find high quality sources quickly and effectively.
Writing a Research Essay
by Elise Merritt - Last Updated Jun 23, 2012
Videos' and tips on how to effectivly write a research essay
Writing Studio, Clearwater Campus
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Jan 3, 2013
Find out about the free tutoring services at the Writing Studio at Clearwater campus.
Writing Workshop
by Matthew Bodie - Last Updated Nov 19, 2012